Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona, and Trevi Fountain

Badge of ExcellenceRoma, Italy

From $30.97

Price varies by group size

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 2 hours 30 minutes
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


See some of the most beautiful architecture, fountains and squares in Rome on this walking tour of the city’s historical center. Stroll along cobbled laneways, stopping to visit famous attractions like the Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, the Spanish Steps and the Pantheon. When booking, you have the option to upgrade to include a tour of the Colosseum and other Ancient Rome sites beforehand.
  • On-the-ground tour of Rome's most famous sites
  • Personalized attention on a small group tour
  • Guaranteed English commentary
  • Enjoy a home-made Italian gelato in summer or a cappuccino or hot chocolate in winter

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

With this small-group tour, take a gelato or hot chocolate break and upgrade to see the Colosseum.

What's Included

  • Guided walking tour (2.5-hours)
  • Morning tour of Ancient Rome and Colosseum (if option selected)
  • Personalized small tour (maximum 25 people)
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Lunch

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Piazza di Spagna
    Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Roma RM, Italy

    Near the Piazza di Spagna metro station entrance under the palm trees in the piazza next to the red ‘M’ sign. Your City Wonders coordinators will be wearing blue City Wonders polo shirts or jackets for easy recognition.

End point

  • Piazza Navona
    Piazza Navona, 00186 Roma RM, Italy

What To Expect

Your walking tour starts at Piazza di Spagna, one of the city’s most popular squares, known for its setting at the bottom of the Spanish Steps. Walk up these famous steps to enjoy a lovely view from the top, and then continue along Rome’s winding cobblestone alleys to the Trevi Fountain.

Stop at the fountain to post for photos and throw a coin in the water, if you wish, which legend says ensures your return to Rome someday. Then continue to the square that Romans consider to be the center of the city, Piazza Colonna, home to a column erected by Marcus Aurelius. Make your way to the Pantheon, a stately temple known for its concrete dome and open oculus, before heading to Piazza Navona, one of Rome’s liveliest squares, where street artists show off their talents and visitors mingle around Bernini’s Fountain of the Four Rivers.

Optional Colosseum and Ancient Rome upgrade:

When booking, you have the option to upgrade your walking tour to include an additional tour of Rome’s ancient attractions, including the Colosseum. This is a morning tour, so it would take place first, starting with a leisurely walk up Oppian Hill for a view of the Colosseum.

Then head back down and enter the Colosseum, skipping the main entrance line with your priority-access ticket. With your guide, walk around the first and second levels of this legendary amphitheater, listening to stories about the gory gladiator battles that once took place here. Next, walk over to the Roman Forum, passing by the Arch of Constantine, and climb up Palatine Hill for more views. You’ll end on Via Sacra, a main road that links the Colosseum to Capitoline Hill. You have about two hours of free time before the Best of Rome walking tour starts so you can have lunch or take a break on your own (own expense).   

By booking these two tours together, you'll save 13% compared to booking them separately.

Piazza di Spagna

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Trevi Fountain

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Pantheon (Pass By)

Piazza del Popolo (Pass By)

Column of Marcus Aurelius (Pass By)

Piazza Navona (Pass By)

Spanish Steps (Pass By)


1 hour 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Roman Forum

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • There will be ongoing restoration work on (or to the buildings surrounding) the Spanish Steps, this will cause some visual disturbance and will affect the viewing and photo opportunities of these monuments
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Please note: The Pantheon entrance is not included. Full explanation about the Pantheon will be given from the outside
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

Don’t miss the Trevi Fountain and be sure to throw a coin in!
Taking this tour in the afternoon heat is very tiring and at times boring.
It's a great way to take in a multitude of sites in a short time.


592 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 592 reviews
Semi private tour was money very well spent
Laurie_P, Sep 2023
Ally was one of the most knowledgeable guides the six of us well travelled adults have had on one of our tours. She was very time efficient, engaging and charming. Couldn’t have asked for better experience. Thank you!
Great guide
Phoenix_B, Sep 2023
Great guide. It was our second tour of the day. So we were tired, she made it very interesting. Bravo
Great walk through Rome
Bich_T, Sep 2023
It was nice to have a tour guide showing us the significant sights of Rome. There were roo many people around and it would take us much longer trying to navigate the city on our own.
Amazing place
yamen_H, Sep 2023
Everything was amazing, the architecture and guider, he explained everything to hs in a very good and funny way
Most enjoyable
Peter_M, Sep 2023
One of the best tours I’ve ever been on , guide was very very knowledgeable, funny , a credit to his company , would throughly recommend, very happy customer
Some issues but overall good
John_S, Sep 2023
The meeting point for the coliseum and the initial gathering of the group was very poorly arranged. Despite the tour operator providing detailed information in the end you find yourself mixed in with hundreds of other people for other tours, in the blazing sun, for a half hour. It would be simpler to meet at a specific address in the shade half a block away. Once we got started the guide was excellent and the morning tour was great. As the time for the afternoon tour approached I checked the app and it said it was cancelled. I did not receive any contact regarding this and would have gone to the second meeting point for nothing had I not checked the app ahead of time, I contacted Viator to verify it was canceled and to request a partial refund, which they have requested from the operator. We still don’t know why it was canceled. Oh well!
Excellent Tour!
Christine_S, Sep 2023
Paulo, was an excellent tourist guide! He made sure we were safe & grouped together to ensure each of us heard all of the details! Plus, he was very knowledgeable and showed genuine passion in sharing all the famous locations on the tour. He really did an amazing job!
Fountains and Plazzas
Stephen_R, Sep 2023
Guide had very good English. She was however very opinionated and came across somewhat harsh. Her knowledge was excellent and she was able impart it well
Not impressed
Vanessa_A, Sep 2023
Unfortunately didn't learn much. It was difficult to understand the guide and she didn'tprovide much insight to what we were seeing. The tour was scheduled for 2.5hrs and it finished an hour early.
karlwegner, Sep 2023
The guide was very informative and knowledgeable about the sculptures and the artist of renaissance Rome. Sights were very visually interesting especially their historical contexts
Cassidy_P, Sep 2023
A nice and informative tour, be prepared for the walking, they take you through great parts of the city but it can be a lot of walking for some.
How do your do a tour of the Pantheon without entering?
Peter_A, Sep 2023
The Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain were nice and well-explained. When we got to the Pantheon, the guide said we are not going in, that would have to be done later at individual expense. The whole point of a tour is to witness and understand what you're touring. I was completely disappointed.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Hello Peter_A, We genuinely apologize for the disappointment you experienced during your Best of Rome Walking Tour, particularly regarding the Pantheon visit. We understand your frustration, and we're sorry for any confusion caused. We would like to clarify that, due to various factors, including the Pantheon's operating hours and entrance regulations, we currently cannot access the Pantheon on this particular tour. Please note that this information is available prior to booking, but we still would like to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We completely agree that the essence of a tour is to witness and understand the attractions you're visiting. We appreciate your feedback, and it will help us improve our tour descriptions and information provided to guests to set accurate expectations. While we couldn't provide access to the Pantheon on this tour, we're pleased to hear that you found the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain portions enjoyable and well-explained. We hope that you were still able to gain valuable insights into Rome's rich history and culture during the tour. We apologize for any frustration this may have caused, and we hope you will consider exploring our other tours in the future to fully experience the wonders of Rome. Thank you for your understanding and feedback. Best regards, The City Wonders Team
Great walking and learning experience in Rome!
Azadeh_Y, Sep 2023
It was a great experience to walk around Rome with a tour guide who was very knowledgeable about Rome. We saw a lot of important points in Rome and we learned a lot in 2 1/2 hour walk. Thank you.
Great informative tour
John_B, Aug 2023
Our guide was well informed and engaged the whole group with her history of Rome. We started at the Spanish Steps then on to the Trevi Fountain and finally the Pantheon. Highly recommend.
Margaret_F, Aug 2023
Could not find tour guide and when we did she said she had no headsets for us so we could not join tour
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Hello Margaret_F, We extend our apologies for the disappointing experience you had with our Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona, and Trevi Fountain. Your feedback is deeply concerning, and we take full responsibility for the inconvenience you faced. The issues you described, such as the unavailability of headsets, are not reflective of our usual standard of service. We are committed to rectifying this situation. To ensure that this matter is properly addressed and resolved, we kindly request that you reach out to us at with your booking reference number. This will enable us to identify the specific circumstances of your experience and take appropriate action. We understand the importance of a seamless and enjoyable tour, and we are dedicated to ensuring that you receive the quality service you expected. Thank you for your understanding and for giving us the opportunity to make this right. We look forward to assisting you further. Best regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
David_B, Aug 2023
The email with instructions. Gave the wrong meeting place causing us to miss the tour. We were at the meeting spot for 40 minutes early. There was no way to know who our tour was with since we were looking for a sign for Vitator and the tour was named something completely different. It was a disaster.
Best tour for my last full day in the Eternal City
Johnjohn_G, Aug 2023
My most memorable experience was going back to the trevi fountain again after 22 years. I was surprised that the Benetton store is still open. That store is very memorable for me because the first time I was there, I was refused to enter because they’re about to do “afternoon siesta”. Eddy is a great guide!
Awesome tour
Ioannis_K, Aug 2023
Amazing tour. Guide was awesome. Very informative, knowledgeable, and passionate about his work. Thank you Eddy!!! We will definitely recommend to friends and family.
No Refund given for a cancelled tour!
Armen_H, Aug 2023
A night before our tour, we received a call that the tour guide is sick and the tour is cancelled. I understand that anyone can get sick. However, since I could not rebook the tour because all days in Rome were already planned for something else, I request a refund. They promised to refund the money within a week. Now, more than 2 months later, I have not seen a refund!
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Hello Armen_H, We sincerely apologize for the delay in issuing your refund for the canceled "Best of Rome Walking Tour." This is not the level of service we aim to provide, and we understand your frustration. Please accept our assurances that we take refund requests seriously and that they are typically processed in a timely manner. It appears there may have been an issue with the processing of your refund, and we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. To resolve this matter as quickly as possible, we kindly request that you contact us immediately via phone or email, our contact information can be found on the Help Tab of Alternatively, you can also reach the manager assigned to your case at Our team will prioritize your case and work diligently to ensure that your refund is processed promptly. Your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, and we appreciate your patience as we work to address this issue. We hope to resolve it to your satisfaction and regain your trust in our services. Thank you for choosing City Wonders, and we look forward to assisting you with your refund. Warm regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
Great tour!
Bob_S, Aug 2023
Great guide Lisa, very knowledgeable and shared lots of nice details about rome, not just about the main buildings like the pantheon, Trevi fountain etc. Would recommend

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona, and Trevi Fountain


2 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Walks City Tour: Piazza Navona, Pantheon & Trevi Fountain


1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do