Colosseum Express Tour

Badge of ExcellenceRoma, Italy

From $43.76

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 hour 15 minutes (approx.)
  • Offered in: English


Get an insider’s introduction to Rome’s ancient gladiatorial arena during this time-saver guided tour. Learn the history behind the iconic monument, with audio headsets available for groups larger than ten. Guided tours include tickets to the nearby Roman Forum and Palatine Hill, which you can visit on your own time and at your own pace.
  • Time-saver guided tour of the Colosseum, ideal for travelers with busy schedules
  • Visit one of the New 7 Wonders of the World—the Colosseum
  • Don’t miss a word: groups over ten receive audio headsets
  • Get complimentary admission tickets to the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill

What's Included

  • All Fees and Taxes
  • Guided Tour Colosseum
  • Ticket- Colosseum
  • Group Ticket -Roman Forum & Palatine Hill
  • Headphones (10 people or more)
  • Tip o gratuity

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Via del Cardello, 31
    Via del Cardello, 31, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

    From the metro station Colosseo, turn right on Via Dei Fori Imperiali and go straight to the first traffic light then, turn right on Via Cavour and turn left on the second street. You will find the agency Italy in Love Tours on Via del Cardello 31.

End point

  • Colosseum
    Piazza del Colosseo, 1, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

Ticket redemption point

Italy In Love Tours, Via del Cardello, 31, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • On this tour, some of the venues or parts of the venue may be subject to last-minute, unpredictable closures. When this occurs, we are happy to offer customers an extended tour in keeping with the advertised total length of the tour.
  • ID required : all public museums in Italy will require all visitors above the age of 12 years old to show a valid ID
  • Customers have a mandatory meeting time stated 30 minutes prior the scheduled departure time due to managing and organization reasons
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Please be advised that the Colosseum's capacity regulations and security may delay the tour departure
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
60 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 60 reviews
Very Good Choice of Tour
Avi_P, Feb 2023
Tour guide did an excellent job in a short time, a very good balance. He was interesting, funny and shared much insight.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! We appreciate it!
Thumbs up!
Caroline_D, Dec 2022
Great tour if you don’t have a lot of time or have younger kids who won’t be keen on a longer tour. The guide was also very knowledgeable.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you so much for your feedback, Caroline! We appreciate it!
Confusing, impersonal, uninformative
Laurie_H, Oct 2022
Meeting location was confusing, and closed when we arrived. Guide never introduced herself and we were supposed to follow her but had no idea what was happening. She dropped us to another guide. He was trying, but the crowds were horrible and he lost half our group. It was difficult to understand and navigate. We didn’t learn much on the tour. A structured audio your would have probably been better.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Hello, Laurie! We are sorry to hear our tour didn't met your expectations! First of all, the meeting point (our office) is very close to the Colosseum, so we don't understand what's confusing about this... Let's not mention that you had the exact address on your vouchers. Secondly, it is extremely normal for the Colosseum to be crowded, it is a very famous touristic attraction & also you had headsets. Regarding our guides/staff, as you saw, we work only with very professional, friendly and experienced staff! The entire staff explained you every step of the tour and the whole process. We think your review is a bit unfair!
Knowledgeable Guide but not an express tour
Jamie_W, Oct 2022
We booked the express tour but unfortunately had to leave after 2 hours The tour was suppose to last 1 hour 30 minutes. At the 2 hour mark we weren’t even 1/2 way. George was very knowledgeable and I’m sure is it a great guide for those who have more time. We were on a time crunch and spent too much time waiting for the tour to begin
Response from Host, Oct 2022
In details of our tour it is very clear that some delays may occur. Please read your details! Thank you!
Anti-Express experience
Josie_T, Sep 2022
The "Express" tour is a lie. Booked this to make the most of our 1 day in Rome. The 1 hour tour started almost 2 hours later than the booked time. Seems like they advertise multiple types of tours and just combine everyone together when you get there.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Hello, Josie! Your tour was exactly as advertised and started RIGHT on time. Before booking a tour, please read the details! Your behaviour was unacceptable! You left the tour and smacked the headset on the ground!!!
The guide was very good...
Marta_G, Sep 2022
The guide was very good and knowleadgeable. Also we arrived early and were included in the first group that left.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Thank you so much for your feedback!
Not worth it
Alessandra_R, Jul 2022
Highly recommend visiting without a guide. It’s crazy packed and the last thing you want to do is stand around in the middle of the walkway. Visit on your own, enjoy your time and use the internet if your want to learn anything new.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you for the feedback! Good luck in learning things from the internet and not from an expert guide!
Great time!
Kelly_D, Jun 2022
Great guide with very extensive knowledge of the Colosseum. Stories about how it was in the past were super interesting!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thank you so much for your review, Kelly!
5 Star Tour
Kathleen_S, May 2022
Unfortunately I cannot remember our guides name but he was excellent. His knowledge on the history of paletine hill, the colosseum, the best views and his eagerness to teach us made the tour. Getting this experience was well worth the money as you learnt so much more from the guide. Would highly recommend
Response from Host, May 2022
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! It is great to hear you enjoyed your in experience in Rome with us!
Great tour
Anthony_R, Apr 2022
Very knowledgeable guide, thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would recommend to others! My daughter who is 7 loved the tour too and learnt some Italian from our guide😝. Fountana di quatro funerate! 😂
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Thanks a lot for sharing your feedback! We are really happy to hear you liked our services!
Decent tour with a good guidr
Andy_H, Apr 2022
Very knowledgeable guide, and the audio to allow everyone to hear clearly was great. Only lost a star because it wasn’t immediately clear what to do once we exited the Colosseum (another guide picked us up and took us to the forum but we all stood around as he hadn’t told us that was the end!). So, slightly better comms at the end would have helped.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Thanks for your positive feedback! We appreciate this as it helps us continue to grow!
Not worth the money
Courtney_B, Apr 2022
In order to retrieve tickets from the ticket office, you have to walk quite a way past the colosseum. On a hot day when you are tired this was not desirable. We were waiting for the tour to start for a full hour, standing in the heat and crowds outside of the colosseum. Then, out of nowhere, two tour guides began physically attacking eachother. Due to the crowds, this meant people were being knocked over and pushed into as they were punching eachother in the face - my sister who is 6 months pregnant was sat on the step due to the heat, and they fell into her. Luckily no injury was caused. This was extremely unprofessional and made us feel unsafe. In addition to this, the tour guide then asked me my mam and sister to wait ten minutes for the next tour as the one we were on was full - despite us booking days in advance. We refused to wait for the next tour as we had already been waiting over an hour for this one to begin! 3 others were then asked to wait which they did. The tour was quite stressful and unorganised and I would have preferred to enter the colosseum on my own and walk round at my own leisure.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Hi, Courtney! We would like to apologise for your negative experience! Our goal is to deliver the highest quality of service to all of our clients. We will investigate the case and see what happened, to resolve the matter promptly.
Great tour!
Breanne_B, Mar 2022
Our tour guide was wonderful and the tour itself was amazing. Such rich history. Highly recommend!!!
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us!
A great tour
Claire_G, Feb 2022
We have done the full tour before without the teens so opted for the shorter one! It was perfect for us and we all learnt. The audio tour was clear and our guide knowledgable. My only criticism was the time it took to get in despite being part of a group!
Response from Host, Feb 2022
Thank you very much for your review!
Simon is a great guide
Alessandra_B, Jan 2022
Simon was excellent showed all the great spots the history with a great sense of humor too. My family and I loved the tour.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!
Dion_B, Jul 2021
The guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the Colloseum, Palatine Hill, and the Roman Forum. The context he provided made an already great tour even better. My wife and I had a wonderful experience.
Response from Host, Jul 2021
Thank you for your appreciation! We are glad you enjoyed your tour!
No experience
Anastasia_R, Jul 2021
We came to the meeting point 15 mins in advance. The office was closed and no one would pick up the phone. So, we had to go colosseum and get our own tickets (we sold out, but we got 3 tickets).
Response from Host, Jul 2021
We are very sorry for the inconvenience! Unfortunately, we were short on staff and we had a security problem with one of our groups! We tried several times to call you and announce the problem before you came! Once again we are sorry for the inconvenience! Regards, Italy In Love Tours
Ambar_I, Aug 2022
El tour estuvo muy bien por que el guía es fantástico nos dio muy buenos datos históricos y puntos de vista muy divertidos
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate it!
chikhi_y, Aug 2021
C'était magnifique, époustouflant, grandiose, j'arrive pas à décrire l'émotion que j'ai resenti en découvrant ses vestiges !! 🥰❤️❤️
Response from Host, Aug 2021
We are glad you enjoyed your tour! Thank you for your kind words!
Bien mais….
Delphine_B, Jul 2021
Le guide qui nous a fait la visite était très sympathique et ses colocations étaient claires et pleines d’anecdotes. Il a su rendre la visite très vivante, amusante et riche d’enseignements. Toutes les personnes avec qui nous avons dû échanger étaient sympathiques… MAIS…. Quelle mauvaise organisation ! Il nous a fallu d’abord aller à un point A où nous devions récupérer nos billets… une jeune femme nous a accompagné au Colisée pour qu’on nous les remette…. Là, une première personne est venue nous voir. Une autre nous a donné nos billets. Une autre est venue nous dire qu’on serait avec X. Puis qu’il fallait qu’on change de place. Puis une autre personne nous a tenu compagnie le temps qu’on attende notre guide, qui était avec un autre groupe…. Et nous avons attendu plus d’une heure !!!! Bref, cela a quelque peu gâché ce moment…. Surtout lorsqu’on est en voyage à l’étranger et qui a envie de profiter de chaque instant…. En résumé, guide super, visite sympathique, chaque intervenant sympathique mais gros problème d’organisation.
Response from Host, Jul 2021
We understand your dissatisfaction. Due to the large number of tourists, organizational problems may occur sometimes. We do our best to integrate everybody in a suitable group and to provide the best tours. Thank you for your review!