Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

Self-Guided Tour Colosseum Skip-the-Line Ticket

Rome, Italy

From $26.08

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 to 3 hours (approx.)


Explore the Colosseum at your own pace during this self-guided, skip-the-line tour. Get guaranteed direct entry, bypassing the usual wait times. Then, wander the main floors of the ancient gladiatorial arena on your own before being escorted to the nearby Palatine Hill and Roman Forum, with admission tickets included.
  • A self-guided tour of the Colosseum, Palatine Hill, and Roman Forum
  • Pre-booked admission tickets include guaranteed skip-the-line entry
  • Discover three ancient Roman landmarks within just a half day of sightseeing
  • Upgrade to include a guided moonlit tour of the Colosseum, without combo tickets

What's Included

  • Skip-the-line entrance ticket to the Colosseum
  • Access to Palatine Hill and Roman Forum
  • Local taxes
  • Booking service
  • Assistance Staff (on site and remotly)
  • Access to Arena,Underground and Third Order (at least you have not booked the option "Arena/Underg")
  • Live guide/Guided tour (at least you have not booked the "Express" option)
  • Audioguide
  • Food and beverages
  • Luggage storage
  • Pick-up/Drop-off service

Meeting And Pickup

Ticket Redemption Point

Arch of Constantine , Via di S. Gregorio, 00186 Roma RM, Italy

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • MEETING POINT ( REDEMPTION POINT) : Pick up your tickets at the ARCH OF CONSTANTINE (side of the Colosseum). You will meet our staff (remember: 15 MINUTES PRIOR to the arranged time) who will hold a little BLACK FLAG saying "Ancient and Recent - Virtual Reality Tour"
  • You are required to show up at the meeting point 15 MINUTES PRIOR to the arranged time of departure - especially families with children/under 18, in order to anticipate and facilitate the entry procedures.
  • Please note that THIS IS NOT A GUIDED TOUR, at least you have not booked EXPRESS OPTION..This option only provides you fast entrance to the Colosseum and access to Palatine Hill/Roman Forum.
  • You will be added to a group with a privileged entrance and after the security check you’ll be free to explore the Colosseum by yourself.
  • After the visit of the Colosseum (around 1h), with the same tickets, you will be able to visit always by yourself the both sites: the Palatine Hill/Roman Forum.
  • The Colosseum tickets have a SPECIFIC SCHEDULED TIME: if you arrive late for the meeting point, it will NOT be possible to join the group or reschedule, unless you pay for the activity again. As per no-show rules, you will NOT be entitled to a REFUND.
  • The Colosseum requires mandatory entry procedures (show children/under 18 to the staff, voucher exchange) and mandatory security check that must be carried out even by the skip-the-line ticket holders. This could require to wait a little more before entering the monument, as this part cannot be skipped.
  • The Colosseum’s capacity regulations (no more than 3000 people inside at the same time) may delay the tour departure. This could also influence the smooth running of the tour especially on national holidays, weekends and during high season. So, even the skip-the-line queue may be not as fast as usual.
  • Children/under 18 must be accompanied by an adult and must carry passports or a valid identity document, because the Colosseum staff may ask to check them at the entrance.
  • The Colosseum area is an open archaeological park and for this reason is not equipped with sun/rain covers and shops. The local operator is not responsible for any kind of discomfort due to this.
  • Please wear comfortable shoes and bring your own bottle of water (no glass bottles/no alcohol).
  • The local operator is not responsible for any inconvenience caused by the closure of the Colosseum/Palatine Hill/Roman Forum due to strikes, events, bad weather, etc.
  • It is forbidden to enter the Colosseum and Palatine Hill/Roman Forum with with BULKY luggages, handbags. Please be aware that there is no luggage storage and that we cannot keep your stuff. Take only the necessary stuff: camera, plastic bottles, documents, wallets etc
  • It is strictly forbidden to enter the Colosseum with knives and any kind of cutting object. Pay attention not to bring with you this kind of stuff.
  • This ticket does NOT include the access to the Arena, Underground area, at least you have not booked the "Arena or Underground option"
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 4 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

Read the fine print so you know what your buying to not cause other people or the tour operator delays.
The problem is that when accessing with children/minors, the facility requires proof that the children are with their parents.
Unfortunately, the afternoon tour is starting and you must wait for the staff to check the afternoon group in before the morning group is taken to the forum.
615 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 615 reviews
Amazon day at the famous Colosseum
Kimberley_C, Jan 2023
Just hear about the history of the Colosseum and seeing where people sat for their status. Also where they kept the animals and how they used the animals.
Lovely day for a tour
Sean_C, Jan 2023
Martha was a great guide to get the story and history to us all in the group. Nice weather helped also.
Just Know What You're Paying For
Paul_W, Jan 2023
When the Coliseum closed 5 minutes early on the free first Sunday of the month, I was quite bummed. And of course tickets for the next day were sold out from the Coliseum itself. Enter the Self-Guided Skip the Line Ticket. This was really the only option for a next day booking. Bear in mind the "skip-the-line" is just skipping the line to buy the ticket (which if you plan in advance, you wouldn't have to do anyway). Basically (like many, many other companies), this company either has an agreement with the Coliseum or has bought up a bunch of tickets in advance to sell at a premium. As long as you know that's what you're paying for, there's nothing wrong with utilizing them, collecting your ticket from them nearby the Coliseum, and heading inside for your own self-guided tour. Product delivered as expected. 5 stars. Cheers.
Great staff
Joseph_M, Jan 2023
Staff were easy to find and very helpful. The whole experience was faultless and we would definitely book other trips
Eye opener
Laurence_K, Jan 2023
Photos do not do justice to these. The sheer scale is incredible, that they created these over 2000 years ago beggars belief. One day is not enough, a week and you only scratch the surface.
Easy way to visit the Colloseum
Jack_M, Jan 2023
Easier to buy the tickets from them and they were helpful when I couldn’t find them. Good way to visit the Colloseum.
Not a great experience. ...
EMMA_P, Jan 2023
Not a great experience. Not organized, very hard to find the meeting point. Terrible that you cant get tickets directly from the official website
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Dear customer, we are sorry to read your negative review. As we are sure you saw during your visit our staff is serious and througly prepared. They are always ready to give you the best help they can, answering all your questions, if you have them, even remotely as it is stated on the description of our product, and giving accurate information on how to make the best of your experience at the Colosseum. As for the meeting point, this is information is clearly stated on the voucher that the platform provides for you when you book your ticket. You can even find the logo, which is on the flag that our staff carries, and a google link streetview, which takes you exactly at the meeting point where you can find our amazing staff. On the same day and at the same time, about other 100 customers found us with no problems and were greatly satisfied with our information service. We work very hard and reading this untrue and not deserved statements from your part is totally unaccetable. Next time read througly all the informations you receive at the moment of your booking and make your life easier! We still thank you for your review and take notes. Best regards.
The tour was great. There...
Justine_B, Jan 2023
The tour was great. There were a lot of info given out and it was very informative in a beautiful place. But there are loads of people in the Colosseum, so prepare yourselves.
Skip the line tickets for the Colosseum
Karin_P, Jan 2023
I wasn’t able to score tickets through the colosseum’s official site for the date that I wanted so this booking worked out well.
No tour and also no refund
Bernie_D, Jan 2023
We arrived at the Arch next to the Coliseum and saw over 10 tour guides with 200 -250 people looking for tours. Some were prepaid and some were cash on the spot. We checked with all of the tour guides near the arch, showed our tickets on our phone and none of them recognized them. I also checked again with a woman with black flags - as our ticket said - and she did not recognize our tickets. I emailed Viator and they said "look for the black flags." We did not find our tour. We instead paid $80E for a guided tour with no wait. I contacted Viator for a refund and they denied our request. It was not a clear meeting point and at least two guides with black flags that told us they were not the correct ones. Frustrating.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Dear customer, What you are saying is simply not possible and we are sorry to hear that this was your experience. That day we had hundreds of people who booked with our company through Viator, just like you, and had no problem reaching us and receiving all the informations from our lovely, serious and prepared staff. We can say with certanty that you did not talk with our staff because if you had they would have never sent you away or told you they did not recognize the voucher as theirs. We have many witnesses between our customers who can assure that, on the same day and time you claim we were not there, our staff was indeed there to meet them and give them the service they booked. You say that the instructions were not clear, but that isn’t true because you received all the instructions on where to meet our staff at the moment of the booking (it is all written on your voucher), all together with the comunication that your experience is refundable only until 24hours before it is scheduled. We work very hard on our products and our services and we always make sure they are provided with all our means. We even tried to call you at the number you provided when you made your reservation, but never received an answer from your part. We tried our best and these statements you made about us not being there are completely false. Best regards
Jessica_H, Dec 2022
Not sure what part was skip the line… a lot of money for not very much… the queues for the other places was so long we didn’t even bother entering. Would never waste that money again.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Dear Customer, This one star review has us shocked but we still thank you and take notes. The experience you booked is a skip the line for the Colosseum. That was definetly provided for you along with all the informations you might have needed to make the best of your experience. You have to understand that visiting the Colosseum during the winter holidays means that other thousands of people just like you booked the same exact service, creating obviously and alteration in regular dynamics and maybe what was a 3 or 4 minutes wait at the gate of the monument, but could you imagine not getting in at all or waiting for hours? As what regards the second part of your visit at the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill, when you booked the service nobody guaranteed a skip the line for that entrance, our products clearly states “Skip-the-line entrance ticket to the Colosseum” and then “ACCESS to Palatine Hill and Roman Forum” without any promises for any skip the line, because that ticket does not exist! Obviously if all thousands of people who went to the Colosseum also went to the Roman Forum there it is impossible to avoid a line! We can’t control the total of people who enter or decide to visit at the same time, we are sorry yours wasn’t the perfect experience buti t was your choice not to visit the rest of the Archeological Park. Best Regards
Amazing day touring Ancient Rome
Stacy_F, Dec 2022
The Coluseum was amazing, but very crowded. We actually enjoyed the walk around Roman Forum the best. It was like spending the day in Ancient Rome. The views were amazing and the gardens were beautiful.
The VR experience was new...
Alejandro_R, Dec 2022
The VR experience was new to me. Got a bit dizzy at first then started to enjoy it. The family enjoyed it too
Quick entry
DANA_T, Dec 2022
Beautiful experience at the Coliseum. The guide was witty and quick. We entered without long wait and had a nice experience
Melanie_R, Dec 2022
We bought the premium access level. The guide told us to go find “the white tent” to get our orange sticker. We spent 15 minutes looking for the white tent which did not exist. Really we just needed to go to the first entrance with our tickets to get the orange sticker. So that was unnecessarily stressful be ause of incorrect instructions.
VIP = very inflated prices!
Rohanna_P, Dec 2022
I never like to write a bad review but despite trying to resolve this Ancient & Recent Tours have not engaged with me. So, Please be aware that if you are wanting to do a self guided tour of the colosseum AND arena then you can buy this direct on the colosseum website for €22 and children are FREE. I understand I chose to use viator (more fool me) and that businesses have to pay costs, make profit etc but for the same ticket (see photos) this company called it a VIP ticket and charged me €60…and worst of all charged me €35 for a child age 3, when children under 18 can enter the colosseum for FREE!!!! The ticket they handed to me had €0 on it so I basically paid €35 for them to print it off and give it to me. Like i say I understand profit but I have since seen other tour sites offering the same tickets for €29 adult and €2 children, and direct on the colosseum website it’s €22 and children are free! So please shop around and do not be fooled by the VIP skip the line stuff. Skip the line means you have bought a ticket in advance and get a time slot instead of risking buying it on the day at the ticket booth and having to queue and not being able to guarantee your entry time - but you can do this on the colosseum website and it’s the standard ticket which includes arena, palatine hill and Roman forum. Apart from that the colosseum is beautiful :)
Amazing to look at
Alison_C, Dec 2022
This is a great tour if you are on a budget and tight time frame. We opted for the self guided purely because of this reason. You need to pick up your tickets from a meeting point first of all as your mobile ticket isn't enough. The colosseum is phenomenal! The only down side is of course you don't have a guide telling you what's what, but all displays are clearly labelled in English so you can figure things out for yourself. Roman forum and palatine Hill are also included in the price and are just a short walk away. All the ruins and buildings are amazing to look at. The only negative I experienced was a whistle blown in my ear by one of the staff who was very forceful in getting you to move along as they were starting to close. Very rude
Yvonne_M, Dec 2022
A great experience ! Along with forum and pallatine hill Colloseum is falling apart Renovations happening Nice to see it
The Coleseum was simply...
Michelle_B, Dec 2022
The Coleseum was simply breath taking, however to get the tickets was not easy, the lady with the black flag needs to be more visible, but once we found her she was very informative.
Don’t buy tickets ahead
Elizabeth_R, Dec 2022
We missed the time frame of the tour, so I paid for something I didn’t get to experience. Same with the Vatican we had to purchase more tickets at the booth.