Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with Arena Floor

Roma, Italy

From $86.21

Select Date and Travelers

You will not receive a refund if you cancel.
  • 2 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Tour the amphitheater and other sites of Ancient Rome under the atmospheric cover of darkness during this evening tour. Learn about the ruins of the Roman Forum seen from the Piazza del Campidoglio, and enter the Colosseum after the daytime crowds have disappeared and the temperature has dropped.
  • Sightsee in the cooler evening temperatures and see Rome’s top attractions without the busy daytime crowds.
  • Walk around the Colosseum’s reconstructed arena floor, in the space where gladiator battles were fought.
  • Admire recently discovered graffiti dating back to the late Middle Ages.
  • Small-group tour with a maximum of 20 people.

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

See the Colosseum—including typically off-limits areas—after dark, when crowds disperse and temps drop.

What's Included

  • Local expert guide
  • Skip-the-Line Access to the Colosseum including the Arena Floor
  • Small groups of 20 people or fewer
  • Roman Forum is seen from the outside only
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Trajan's Column
    Via dei Fori Imperiali, 00187 Roma RM, Italy

    The tour starts on the platform directly in front of Trajan’s Column: located on Via dei Fori Imperiali near Piazza Venezia. Standing right in front and facing the Victor Emmanuel II Monument, it’s directly to the left across the street. The guide will be waiting there wearing a blue polo shirt.

Start time

05:00 PM

End point

  • Colosseum
    Piazza del Colosseo, 1, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Avoid bringing large purses, bags, or backpacks on your tour.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • We regret that we are unable to accommodate guest below 6 years old due to venue security reason.
  • Due to Colosseum security regulations, a PASSPORT OR VALID ID DOCUMENT IS MANDATORY to join this tour
  • Please note: All participant names are required at the time of booking in order to enter the Colosseum. Every customer is required to carry a valid ID that matches the name on the ticket, or an entry will be refused. Name changes are not permitted once the booking is confirmed
  • Due to the fact that Colosseum by Night at 19:30 or later includes Underground entry tickets, which must be purchased using the full name of each passenger and cannot be modified or cancelled, no refund will be given for any tour cancellation once the tickets are purchased on the passengers’ behalf.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos

    See more

    Traveler Tips

    There are stairs and lots of walking so the requirement of moderate fitness by the tour operator is accurate.
    Honestly, it's a good tour, but go during the day.
    The Colosseum at night is lovely, and the underground and arena floor is a must.
    780 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 780 reviews
    Less Traffic
    Severyn_S, Nov 2022
    Very informative guide and funny at that. It was a nice way to see the Colosseum, with a little less foot traffic. I was a little disappointed to realize after I booked it, it did not include the underground - that is for Saturday’s only (at least when we booked it). Overall, great tour.
    Couldn't find meeting location...
    Kym_C, Oct 2022
    We could not find the meeting place in time and completely missed it. So, it really wasn't terrible, but I'm out $200 and didn't get to see it.
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Hey Kym_C, We're so sorry to hear that you were unable to find your meeting point for your Colosseum by evening tour. On the booking voucher we always include directions to the meeting point along with GPS coordinates and pictures. Customers who have difficulty finding us are also invited to give us a call and our customer care team would be happy to direct you further. As we cannot accommodate late arrivals, we advise on the booking to be at the meeting point 15 minutes prior to the starting time. Please give our customer service department a call when you get the chance to see if we may be able to reschedule your tour for a future date. We would be more than happy to help as we would hate for you to miss out on the experience you were hoping to share with us. Our phone lines can be found on the contact us tab of our website: Kindest regards, Edgar City Wonders
    Great tour!
    Michael_T, Oct 2022
    Great tour! The colosseum is so amazing and being able to see a recreation of the arena floor was fantastic. A little bit of a misnomer in the description though as we did not have an “optional” visit under the colosseum
    Euan_C, Oct 2022
    Nikolas, our guide, was excellent. Made the trip to the colosseum very special . Would recommend this trip to anybody
    Great tour knowledgeable...
    NITIN_B, Oct 2022
    Great tour knowledgeable guide. Really enjoyed. It was a great tour. Highly recommended for travelers
    My favorite trip to the Colosseum
    Kathryn_W, Oct 2022
    Damiano was wonderful! So knowledgeable and entertaining. I’ve been to the Colosseum before but this was my favorite experience. Give yourself enough time to find the meeting place. They’re very organized, but Rome is sometimes hard to navigate—they have clear instructions but it was still hard for some of us to find. But worth the search!
    Fascinating tour of the Colosseum
    Hilary_C, Oct 2022
    Fascinating narrative from Damiano - what he doesn’t know about the ancient Romans isn’t worth knowing. Really made the place come alive
    We could not find the...
    Thomas_O, Oct 2022
    We could not find the meeting place for tour to start on time. Agent on phone was not willing to give us a credit for the tour on a future date. Very rude. We will never use Viator again !
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Hello Thomas, Apologies that you could not get to our meeting point in time for your tour of the Colosseum. We know how difficult it can be to find your way in a foreign city so to help our guests we always provide our contact numbers and we’re happy to offer further assistance when needed. We ask our customers to check in for their tours 15 minutes before the scheduled start time. Unfortunately, however, we cannot wait for late comers as this will result in delaying the whole group. We try to provide all our customers with reliable and available customer service every step of the way. We are sincerely sorry if this caused any inconveniences in your travels. Kindest regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
    Not so much of a “Special Visit”
    Matthew_L, Oct 2022
    Our guide was amazing but the tour agency was terrible. There was no arena floor visit or “optional underground”. He let us know this in the beginning of the tour and told us that we should be refunded. Luckily, our guide still made our experience very enjoyable.
    Wonderful experience!
    Evan_F, Oct 2022
    Rita was a great guide. She did an amazing job at bringing the history of the Colosseum to life and she had a great sense of humor.
    Missed tour
    Walter_H, Oct 2022
    We went on a Vatican tour that started & ended late, causing us to miss the Roman Colosseum tour. I was looking forward to it but these things happen
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Hello Walter_H, Apologies that you could not make your tour of the Colosseum with us. We lament to hear that you were on another tour and this was the reason as to why you could not make ours. Unfortunately, we cannot wait for late arrivals as this delays the rest of the group. Hopefully you give us another opportunity to provide you with a memorable experience in the future. All the best & safe travels, Edgar J. City Wonders
    Did not get to see it at night!
    Kimberly_S, Oct 2022
    The guide did not show up. We were told that there are no night tours in September. Why were we sold tickets? Please provide a refund.
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Hello Kimberly, Apologize for any and all inconveniences caused today. Please contact with your full name, booking reference number and preferred contact details so we may properly resolve what happened. Kindest regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
    Lots of information.
    Rachelle_W, Oct 2022
    This was a great tour. Our guide was full of information to share. The only bummer is we were not able to do the “optional underground” as was listed on the title. Our tour guide said he wasn’t sure why it stated that there was an optional underground.
    Colosseum walking tour
    Gayane_A, Sep 2022
    It was very easy to book the tour, which exactly provided what we we expected. The tour guid was very lovely and knowledgeable. She took breaks for people to rest at which time a lot if explanations were given. She encouraged everyone to ask questions and was able to answer them. The tour was beyond awesome! Highly recommended!! Thank you!
    Tour cancelled
    Karine_A, Sep 2022
    We were notified 2 days prior that our tour was cancelled, with no explanation. We were given the option to go on the same day we received the notice (I explained to them that we had not reached Rome yet), or to cancel the tour. We cancelled and searched frantically for another tour, but all the underground tours were at that point fully booked. This was supposed to be the highlight of our trip, and ended up being a complete disappointment. We would have appreciate if they had made the effort to book us with another tour, but no real effort was put in to find another solution for us. I would also like to point out that the tour was fully refundable when I booked it, a few months later, I was notified that I had to confirm the tour, and would no longer be able to make any changes to it. With such strict rules and confirmations, and expected the tour operator to respect their engagement, but it seems the customer is the only one that has to commit.
    Unable to find meeting place
    Lisa_C, Sep 2022
    We tried two different times to find the meeting place for this tour. We spent two hours the day before the tour and 1 hour before the tour - asked several shop owners and the taxi driver and no one could understand the directions. It was raining and we never saw any flags with a tour guide. Therefore, we missed the tour. Very disappointing!
    Nicholas_S, Sep 2022
    Fabio was an absolute amazing guide. Fabio’s passion for the history and knowledge exudes him and he is the true epitome of what we want and expect from a tour guide. Thank you to Fabio for a wonderful and informative experience we will never forget.
    Great tour!
    Brain_D, Sep 2022
    Our guide was fabulous! So kind and extremely knowledgeable. She really brought the history of the colosseum and Forum to life! The inclusion of the arena floor really makes it easy to imagine the fanfare that took place. Definitely recommend!
    Great tour
    David_K, Sep 2022
    Very informative and entertaining. Tour started a little early and moved us along rather quickly. Tour guide was very knowledgeable.
    Waste of money and time
    Mary_N, Aug 2022
    We were unable to find the tour guide and missed the whole tour. When we were able to get ahold of someone on Viator what’s app we were told we were in the correct spot yet no your guide was there. They then proceeded to give us the same direction we followed initially but with no positive outcome we were unable to join the tour group. No refund was given for the faulty directions provided to meet up with the group. Would never recommend this company or tour to anyone. Will also be sharing our experience on other rating platforms so this does not happen to others.