Recent Searches
Clear

I Love Rome Hop on Hop off Open Bus Tour

star-3.5227 Reviews
|
Roma, Italy
I Love Rome Hop on Hop off Open Bus Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 12 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Explore Rome's museums, architecture and art with this hop-on, hop-off tour. Purchase a ticket and discover the city's charms at your leisure while riding on a cheerful pink double-decker bus. Don the provided headphones and enjoy recorded audio commentary in 13 languages for the 8 stops.
  • Explore Rome at your own pace with this hop-on hop-off bus tour
  • Ticket options available for 24, 48 or 72
  • Audio guide in 13 languages
  • The route covers 8 stops for Rome’s must see attractions
Saved to wishlist!
Multilingual audio headset
Hop-on hop-off map of Rome showing the route of the Panoramic
WiFi available
Interesting and informative commentary through the headphones. 13 languages available
Admission to attractions, monuments and museums
Optional gratuities
Please be advised that, only small dogs with kennel are admitted on board

Departure Point

You may start this tour at any of the stops listed.
See itinerary

Return Details

You may disembark at any of the available stops.
Print and exchange your voucher on board the bus, or at the Gray Line / I Love Rome office.

All tickets (same validates) will allow you to take advantage at a discounted rate. All bus lines have air conditioning and free WiFi.

Panoramic Route (pink double deck bus): Nine stops at Rome's must-see attractions. Make stops at Santa Maria Maggiore, Colosseum, Circo Massimo, Piazza Venezia, Vatican City, and Castel Sant'Angelo. Individual earphones are available to listen to the informative audio tour in Italian, English, French, German, Spanish, Japanese, Mandarin Chinese, Korean, Russian, Portuguese, Hindi, Arabic and Dutch. This route runs every 10 - 15 minutes from 8:30am to 6:40pm Monday through Thursday; through 8:45pm Friday through Sunday.
Itinerary
Duration: 
2 hours 
Operating Schedule:
  Daily departures. First departure at 08:30 AM from Termini Station and last departure at 08:30 PM from Termini Station. End of services at 06:50 PM. Buses depart every 15 minutes from Termini Station (Stop 1). Since 6th Dec, 2021 the Green Pass is required to get on board. Make sure to have it with you.
Largo di Villa Peretti, 70
Termini Station Stop (corner Piazza dei Cinquecento)
P.za dell'Esquilino, 12
St. Mary Major
Via di San Gregorio, 30
Colosseum Archaeological Area
Giardino degli Aranci
Circo Massimo - Bocca della Verità
Via del Teatro di Marcello, 2
Piazza Venezia - Roman Forum
Lungotevere Tor di Nona, 7
Vatican City & Sistine Chapel (between Via Panico and Via Mastro)
Via Ludovisi, 73
Spanish Steps - Shopping Area
Via Barberini, 12
Barberini & Trevi Fountain
Points of interest passed by on this route
Piazza della Repubblica
 
Via Nazionale
 
Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore
 
Via dei Fori Imperiali
 
Colosseum
 
Bocca della Verita
 
Circus Maximus
 
Teatro di Marcello
 
Piazza Venezia / Ancient City
 
Vatican City
 
St. Peter's Basilica
 
Vatican Museums
 
Sistine Chapel
 
Spanish Steps
 
Via Condotti
 
Via del Corso
 
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
 
Piazza Barberini
 
Trevi Fountain
 
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Important: Rome is a lively capital city and therefore political events, demonstrations and celebrations can disrupt the itinerary at any time, especially during special events, holidays summer and at weekends. While every effort is made to ensure a smooth and frequent service there may be delays, reduced frequency and route alterations due to traffic congestion and road closures
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Since 6th Dec, 2021 the Green Pass is required to get on board.
  • Hop on Hop off bus operates every day from 8:30 AM to 8:30 PM (First bus from Largo Peretti, Last bus 6:50 PM from Termini). Buses depart every 15 minutes from Termini Station (Stop 1)
  • Most travelers can participate
  • OPERATED BY Gray Line I Love Rome by Carrani Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during I Love Rome Hop on Hop off Open Bus Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by I Love Rome Hop on Hop off Open Bus Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
227 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 227 reviews
star-1
Absolutely the worst Hop...
Joan_C
, Aug 2022
Absolutely the worst Hop On and Off tour I have taken in many years of travel in many different countries. Book with another group!! This was short, little information provided and the staff was very rude!!!! At one point we sat for over 30 minutes in the sun on a very hot day!! Not acceptable
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Joan_C, We are sorry for your unpleasant experience. In compliance with some municipal decrees the buses can't arrive inside some areas, but only get as close as possible. These rules are valid for everyone, so all tourist buses do the same route. For what concern the commentary, large investments will be made to upgrade the content of our audio guide (which only in our buses is available in 13 languages). Unfortunately, in this covid period, very difficult for tourism, we had other priorities. But we would like to understand better what was happened. We don't understand what it means that the bus stopped 30 minutes in the sun, if you want to explain us what was happened, also about our staff appelling as rude; please write us at openbus@graylinerome.it. We will find a solution together. Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off City Tour
star-5
Fantastic way to see Rome...
Janet_H
, Aug 2022
Fantastic way to see Rome as well as getting around especially with little ones, we walked the first day and this was a god send for the second day!! Great experience would certainly do again
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Janet_H, We read your review and were very happy to know that you enjoyed your experience on board. We just wanted to let you know we appreciate your high rate and your recommendation words. We hope to see you soon onboard. Best Regards. I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off City Tour
star-3
Hot, crowded, and alot of waiting at the stops...
Heather_G
, Jul 2022
It was incredibly hot. We waited for quite some time at the stops to board the bus. Every stop was patrolled by no less than a half-dozen people selling waters, chargers, fans, etc. The bus was crowded and hot no matter whether you sat above/below. I will say, it took us past several points of interest that I had thought we wanted to spend some time visiting, but quickly realized they weren't that important after the bus drive-by. Maybe this is a better option when the weather is cooler, but it certainly wasn't worth the investment in July... It was just all around uncomfortable.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Heather, thank you for your opinion. We are sorry for your unpleasant experience but what you told isn't up to us.. If you choose to come in Rome in July the weather is very hot, in this year especially hot, as in the rest of Europe. The sellers at the stops are indipendent and they aren't our employees; they sell what you could need depending on the season. Finally the bus is an open bus so it might be hot. We wait for you next time in October :-) Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off City Tour
star-3
Stops too far from...
William_R
, Jul 2022
Stops too far from attraction, not enough information on map, needs more interaction with staff. Perhaps, if you walk this way you can pick up next stop, but we got lost and didn't get back to bus...
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear William, thank you for your review. We are sorry for your unpleasant experience. All the stops are near to the attraction, 5 minutes walking and our staff is available to give all the informations you need if you ask them. Moreover our maps are provided with QR Code next to the name of the bus stop to find them on Google Maps. Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off City Tour
star-1
Too slow, crowded, hot with very little audio description. Better using public transport.
Nicholas_I
, Jul 2022
Very hot. First bus the roof was broken, so there was no shade. The airconditioning downstairs with not effective. Bus was overcrowded. To be fair to the bus company, it was during a heatwave. I certainly would not recommend going when it is hot or very cold. The audio description was dreadful. Long periods of (very annoying ) music and very little talking. With so much history in Rome, it does seem bizarre to have so little information. Also, the map is useless (also very hard to find). TIP: all the buses appear to stop at the same stops, so if you have the misfortune of using this Hop on Hop off service, use another company's map.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Nicholas, we appreciate your opinion, thanks for leaving it. We are sorry for your unpleasant experience with the overcrowding of these days. Fortunately a lot of people choose I Love Rome and in periods of greater turnout, long lines can be created at bus stops. For what concern the commentary, large investments will be made to upgrade the content of our audio guide (which only in our buses is available in 13 languages). Unfortunately, in this covid period, very difficult for tourism, we had other priorities. Finally the map are all provided with QR code near the name of the bus stops, with the geolacation on Google Maps so it's not so difficult to find them. Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off City Tour
star-5
Good for people who want to see as much as possible
rodica
, Jun 2022
The tours is very nice. Loved the most Castle San Angelo and Barberini. It is very good for people that cannot walk long distances but want to see as much as they can. Bus driver and their assistance were kiind and well organized. The descriptions in English were very well spoken.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Rodica, thank you for your review. We are very happy to know you liked the experience onboard and the possibility to enjoy the itinerary sitting comfortably. Thank you also fort he compliments to our driver and onboard assistant; they will be very happy to receive them. We wait for you next time in Rome. Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off City Tour
star-5
A+
Tifany_S
, Jun 2022
Always book this Hop on Hop off whenever we're in town. 3rd time and still great. Runs on time. Are some of the stops not directly in front of archaeological sites? Yes.. can you get there in less than a 3-minute walk? Yes Definitely worth it. We always go one full trip first then we decide where we're going to get off to sightsee.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Tiffany, thank you for your wonderful review with 5 stars and for traveling with us. We are very happy you liked the experience onboard and understood the meaning of this type of tour that allows you to pass through the main sites of the city by going down and walking for a few minutes where necessary. We will be glad to see you your next time in Rome. Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off City Tour
star-2
Ok experience.
John_N
, Jun 2022
Crowded and hot. Better if top was covered. Stops at different locations too long. Never the same time for different busses.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear John, thank you for your review. We are sorry for your unpleasant experience with the overcrowding of these days. Fortunately a lot of people choose I Love Rome and in periods of greater turnout, long lines can be created at bus stops. As for the heat, this year has struck us exceptionally early but on the weather we can do little. The bus in the upper floor is semi-covered to offer a unique view of the monuments of the city, as provided by the OPEN bus service. Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off Staff
star-5
Nice Trip !
Magaly_M
, May 2022
The bus came every 15 minutes and we enjoyed our family trip with the view of the most important places of Rome .
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Magaly, thank you for your wonderful review with 5 stars! We are very happy to know you liked the experience onboard with your family. We will be glad to see you next time in Rome. Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off City Tour
star-2
Horrendous queues in the heat!
Robert_C
, May 2022
They simply sold too many tickets and didn't have enough buses running. Queues were horrendous to get on the bus. If I hadn't have bought the tickets in advance through Viator we would not have done this tour with Grayline.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Robert, we appreciate your opinion, thanks for leaving it. We are sorry for your unpleasant experience with the overcrowding of these days. Fortunately a lot of people choose I Love Rome and in periods of greater turnout, long lines can be created at bus stops. However we always do our best to ensure a quick disposal of the line. We hope to see you soon again to give you a better experience onboard. Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off Staff
star-4
Very useful add on to our...
Sue_M
, May 2022
Very useful add on to our Rome experience and money well spent. I purchased the 3 day pass, 2 days would have been perfect for us as we just explored on foot the 3rd day. Finding the bus stop when you arrive is possibly the most difficult part, if you google search stop locations and use google maps its easy enough to find. Once you've done the 90 minute bus loop you can familiarise yourself with the different areas. Be aware that most stops are approx 10 / 15 minute walk from the actual area your heading to. This is understandable as side roads are very narrow and cobbled. Commentry is OK but doesn't sync with the location being described. Be aware that most stops don't have any seating or shade while waiting so its gets very hot after a long day on your feet. Staff were polite and helpful, we never waited longer than 15 minutes for a bus and got a seat up or down. Overall I have no complaints and it definately complimented our Roma experience. I
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Sue, thank you for your review. We are very happy you liked the experience onboard and the organization. We are improving our brochure with informations about the bus stops to allow to understand easily where to find them. Thank you for your feedback. Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off City Tour
star-4
A quick tour
Glenda_O
, May 2022
We had only a couple of hours before boarding a ship so the gave us a chance to see a few things. We didn’t get off but just road the circle.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Glenda, thank you for your good review. We are very happy to know you liked the experience onboard and the tour. We will be happy to receive you onboard next time in Rome. Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off City Tour
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Loved it!!
JB_M
, May 2022
It was a wonderful tour and easy to navigate. Do early in your trip, it helps to get a lay off the land and then you can go back and spend more time in the places that interested you.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear JB, thank you for your review with 5 stars. We are very happy you liked the experience onboard and the organization of the tour. We will wait for you next time in Rome! Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off City Tour
star-3
Good city overview. Poor instructions provided.
Odettelynn_M
, May 2022
Loved getting a quick overview of Rome. However, additional instructions are needed to actually find the bus stop. The tour instructions said to exchange our vouchers for tickets at the stand at the Termini. The cashier said to just give the voucher to the bus driver. Then was told to stand at the bus stop for the bus- just next to the statue about 200 feet away. Come to find out, the bus boarded across the street about a 1.5 blocks away. Very inconvenient for disabled such as we are.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Odettel, thank you for your review. We are sorry for your unpleasant experience. We are improving our brochure with informations about the bus stops to allow to understand easily where to find them. Thank you for your feedback. Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off City Tour
star-5
Good way to see the city!
Donna_M
, May 2022
The covered upper observation deck was perfect for a not so perfect day! Will recommend to our friends and family!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Donna, thank you for your review. We read it and were very happy to know that you enjoyed your experience on board. We just wanted to let you know we appreciate your high rate and your recommendation words. We hope to see you soon onboard. Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off Staff
star-4
Hop on Hop off
MARK_W
, May 2022
Bus waited at each stop longer than expected, but overall the experience was as I would expect. Called the tour company since I couldn’t find the location for my first pickup at Termini Station. They texted an amazing list that has google maps links to each pickup location!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Mark, thank you for your good review. We are very happy to know you liked the experience onboard, and the organization of our booking department who showed you the pickup point. We will wait for you next time in Rome. Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off City Tour
star-4
Very nice experience....
Tereza_S
, Apr 2022
Very nice experience. Blankets would be nice though AND i would aprecciate little more information about the city provided by the audioguides. Everything else was good. Bus was clean.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Tereza, thank you very much for your review; your feedbacks are very important to us. Large investments will be made to update the contents of our audioguide but in this period we had other priorities such as adapting the health protocol onboard. Anyway we thank you for your opinion. Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off Staff Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off Staff
star-5
Very happy
Kevin_B
, Apr 2022
On-time. Easy to deal with. Got us close to the attractions. Good audio commentary of those attractions. Very happy.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Kevin, thank you for your good review which helps us and the community that supports us. We appreciate your kind words; we're working hard to make the best service, aiming to your 5 stars. Kind regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off Staff
star-4
Great value
Chris_W
, Apr 2022
Never overcrowded unlike others we saw. Really could use an extra stop between Vatican and Spanish steps
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Chris, thank you for your review; your feedbacks are very important to us. In compliance with the municipal decrees, the route is the same for all open buses and it's established from the municipality; so it's not possible add a stop to the route. Thanking you for your review we send you our best regards. I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off City Tour
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great
Max_W
, Mar 2022
Great service recommended! Nice staff and always on time. Maybe a little too expensive comparing to public transport but hey ho it's Rome
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Dear Max, thank you for you review with 5 stars, it's very important to us especially in this period so difficult for tourism. We are very happy to know you liked the experience onboard, the punctuality of the service and our staff who will be glad to receive your compliments. We wait for you next time in Rome for another experience with us! Best Regards I Love Rome Hop On Hop Off City Tour

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
I Love Rome Hop on Hop off Open Bus Tour
I Love Rome Hop on Hop off Open Bus Tour

star-3.5227

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$15.21

star-3.54924

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$28.15

star-455

1 day

Free Cancellation

From
$28.78

star-3.51026

1 hour 40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$28.15

star-3.511

1 day

Free Cancellation

From
$29.20

star-528

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$20.85

star-52

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$113.66

star-52

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$156.41
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations