California Gold Rush: A Self-Guided Cycling Tour around the Sacramento Grid

Sacramento, United States

From $8.30

Select Date and Travelers

You will not receive a refund if you cancel.
  • 2 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Learn all about the California Gold Rush and its history in Sacramento on this self-guided tour of what was once a Spanish territory. This takes around two hours, and you’ll navigate by GPS. There are two spots to rent bikes, so that is extremely easy to do. The tour departs and finishes at the easy to locate Capital, and takes you to several stops along the route.
  • Note this is for those age 6 and above
  • Plan on around two hours for this tour
  • Note that this is a private tour just for you
  • Note your bicycle is an extra fee

What's Included

  • Lifetime access to California Gold Rush: the Sacramento Grid by Bicycle tour
  • VoiceMap Application
  • Offline access to audio, maps, and geodata
  • Smartphone and headphones
  • Transportation including the bicycle
  • Food/Drink
  • Tickets or entrance fees to any museums or other attractions en route

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 1305 10th St
    1305 10th St, Sacramento, CA 95814, USA

    The tour starts at 1305 10th St, Sacramento, CA, USA. Before arrival, please install the VoiceMap mobile app and use the code provided on your confirmation ticket. This is a self-guided audio tour that you can start, pause, or restart at any time and complete at your own pace.

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 9/4/2019 - 4/6/2024

    Monday - Sunday : 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

California State Capitol Museum (Pass By)

Sutter’s Fort State Historic Park (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

      2 reviews
      Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
      Reviews by Viator travelers.
      Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews
      There were no bikes only...
      Rebekah_T, Apr 2022
      There were no bikes only scooters Available to rent and the recording was out of sink. Also it was sad to see so many crazy homeless people at the spots it sent us too. I didn’t want my child to see scary people with such sad situations while trying to take a needed vacation.
      Horrible experience.
      Martha, May 2021
      I have done similar tours in other cities and this was so disappointing. We couldn't stop and start the app. The app froze and we couldn't start over. I would like a refund.
      Response from Host, May 2021
      Hi Martha, We're really sorry you had such a frustrating experience. We've issued a refund. You should be notified by Viator. It looks like there were two issues here, and they combined to make using the app extremely difficult: 1. Android 11 has changed how we get permission to use your location and we've spotted – and now fixed – a bug that you experienced when you tried to resume the tour. 2. This tour's first and final location are in the same place, and the app confused the start of the tour with the end of the tour. We've also fixed this, not just for the Gold Rush tour, but through an audit of all tours with first and final locations that are close together. It seems like your disappointment was entirely justified, but it is worth saying that the majority of our users love VoiceMap and we have an average rating of 4.6/5 from over 8,000 ratings. This is partly because we value feedback like this, and we act on it as quickly as possible. So thanks Martha. I hope you'll try VoiceMap again at some stage!