San Francisco

BEST Redwood Forest Steam Train, Santa Cruz Harbor Day Trip from San Francisco

San Francisco, United States

From $150.00

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 8 to 10 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Santa Cruz and its central coast beaches and redwood forests lie roughly two hours south of San Francisco. This tour covers the best of the region on a full day of sightseeing while letting someone else take care of the driving. Highlights include a ride on the Redwood Forest Steam Train, visiting an abalone farm, and exploring Santa Cruz Harbor and Capitola Beach.
  • A sightseeing day trip to Santa Cruz from San Francisco
  • Take a 45-minute ride on the Redwood Forest Steam train
  • Visit Santa Cruz Harbor, Capitola Beach, and an abalone farm
  • Hassle-free round-trip transportation from San Francisco

What's Included

  • Transportation (The type of vehicle used will base on the number of guests on the day. ).
  • Professional Driver and Guide (or Driver-Guide) .
  • Admission ticket to Redwood Forest Steam Train.
  • Food and beverage.
  • Personal expenses and other expenses not listed in the Cost Includes.
  • Gratuities (10% - 20% recommended).
  • Parking is not available at pick up point.The cost of transportation to/from the place of departure.
  • Booster seat ($10.00/person/day) available upon request

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Redwood National Park

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Santa Cruz Harbor

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

American Abalone Farms

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Capitola Beach

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • 1. Customer under 18 years old MUST be accompanied by at least one adult.
  • 2. Please be sure to provide accurate and complete information upon booking. This includes name, gender, valid contact information (preferably a mobile phone), accurate tour location, etc., This helps to avoid any errors upon the reservation because errors affect travel. Any losses due to inaccurate or invalid information will be at your own cost and the company will not be held responsible.
  • 3. Any guests that have already purchased their own tickets or have a city PASS will not be able to use it on the tour. Please understand that you must purchase the admission tickets through our company in order to participate. For the optional admission tickets, you will reserve it from the tour guide directly. The tour guide will make this arrangement for you. As a tour group, it is highly suggested to make a reservation together rather than individually in order to get into an attraction. We greatly appreciate your understanding and cooperation. Thank you again for choosing to tour with us! 
  • 4. During the actual trip, the tour guide or driver has the right to appropriately adjust the tour sequence, stay time or assembly time of scenic spots according to the weather, traffic, and other conditions to ensure the smooth progress of the trip.
  • 5. If the scenic spots are temporarily closed or closed on a particular holiday, etc., the tour guide will adjust the appearance according to the actual situation or replace the location with another scenic spot to ensure the richness of the itinerary. The opening hours and capacity limits of certain attractions and national parks will be subject to change from time to time due to the COVID-19 pandemic. When the operating hours and capacity restrictions have an impact on the itinerary, it shall be regarded as force majeure. Thank you for your understanding.
  • 6. For state law, Children under the age of 6 require a booster seat in order to participate in the tour group(Price is under exclusions). Please make a request when booking the itinerary so that we may have the booster seat ready in advance. Please understand that the violations and fines are borne by the guests themselves. There is no need for a booster seat for bus travel on the day of travel, and the fee can be refunded to the guest.
  • 7. Normal health conditions are required to participate and enjoy our full itineraries. Contact us for specific policies or information regarding passengers with disabilities who do need to provide advance notification to make a reservation. JUPITER LEGEND Corporation and Ctour Holiday do not guarantee a wheelchair lift-equipped bus and/or seating availability to disabled passengers without prior notification and approval.
  • 8. We may alter these terms and conditions from time to time and post the new version on the website. It is your responsibility to check it on the website regularly and prior to making a reservation. Unless specifically stated otherwise herein or required by law, the supplier shall not be liable for any consequential, compensatory, indirect, incidental or punitive damages arising out of or in connection with the performance of its obligations under these terms and conditions.
  • 9. This product is a group activity. If you choose to leave the group, please inform in advance, and obtain the consent of the tour guide. You need to sign the departure agreement form and the unfinished part will be regarded as your own abandonment. The group fee will not be refunded.
  • 10. Gift items in the itinerary that cannot be given away due to force majeure factors such as traffic and weather conditions or personal reasons may be subject to change. Please understand that the fees will not be refunded.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 55 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.


6 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-3 of 6 reviews
Good Trip But Transfer Horrendous.
Julia_F, Dec 2022
We were so looking forward to this trip and can't overstate how stressful the start to the trip was. We were at our pick up point just before 7.15 am, for a 7.30 am pick up. Driver was fifteen minutes late and no one told us that we would be joining a shuttle pick up for people going to Las Vegas before being dropped of nearly three hrs later in a car park in Santa Cruz. The drive was horrendous with the driver constantly on his mobile phone, checking paper work, for the first time ever I felt so unsafe in a vehicle. Stopped twice on a motorway narrow hard shoulder to check google maps making us late for what we know now was the meeting point as he went house to house to pick up passengers. No explanation given to us, we kept asking what time our trip would start and he kept given us false updates. Fruit was our driver in the car park and he was so different to the driver who dropped us of. A careful driver and was so relieved to know that he would be taken us back to our hotel. We would of enjoyed this trip so much more if we hadn't gone through what we did before boarding the Redwood train and then Santa Cruz. I do believe that Viator should look into this trip as transfer to the main trip was horrendous.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we apologize that your experience was not a positive one. We do want to clarify that having different pick-up locations for a specific route is to improve efficiency for all passengers being picked up, but we do apologize for not notifying you of this beforehand. As for our drivers/guides, most of the time, they are authorized to use their mobile devices to contact passengers as they arrive to pick up points in a safe manner, if that was not the case, we will look more into the situation. We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with Fruit's services and will relay your compliments to him. We are constantly dedicating resources to improve our services, and with every feedback, that brings us closer to our goal. Thank you again for your time, and we hope that we can provide you with reasons to give us 5 stars the next time you travel with us.
Was NOT as was described AND NEVER told us of the change
Mary_W, Oct 2022
You booked us on a Chinese tour without prior warning . It was not a Viator . The driver spoke primarily Chinese and there was no discourse on history or background of any of the places we went to visit . The o Pt reason it did not get a 1 star was because the train ride was only awesome experience . I will follow up with a phone call to Viator . The guide was mearly a driver not a GUIDE . Not worth the money like previous tours through this company . I was Never Warned that we were placed with a Chinese tour company . We are English speaking and could not enjoy the experience
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear Customer, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about our service. Our guide has been in the United States for 20 years, he can speak fluent English, so we also very confused that what made you feel it was Chinese tour, but we still so sorry for the guide's insufficient explanations about the attraction and we would like to refund service fee of $12/person to you, please contact us via with your BR number. Thank you!
Great trip!
Roderick_M, Jul 2022
Anthony was an awesome guide and driver! We learned a lot and he took care of us. Also the steam train was a lot of fun for the whole family and the Redwoods are magnificent! We highly recommend it.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the service we provided! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
BEST Redwood Forest Steam Train, Santa Cruz Harbor Day Trip from San Francisco


10 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Private transfer from SFO to Santa Cruz


2 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Alcatraz Tour Plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip


7 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation

Customers Who Bought This Tour Also Bought