San Francisco

Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour

San Francisco, United States
Likely to Sell Out

From $104.00

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 7 hours (approx.)
  • Offered in: English


Take away the stress and uncertainty from booking an Alcatraz tour with this package that includes Alcatraz ferry tickets and a 90 min guided walking tour of Chinatown and North Beach. Get practical tips from your guide on visiting Alcatraz then follow them through the heart of the largest Chinese community in the Western World. This is the perfect way to spend half a day in San Francisco enjoying some of its quintessential experiences with the help of a local who is on hand both to guide you and sort out logistics.
  • Experience two contrasting sides of San Francisco with a trip to Alcatraz and Chinatown
  • An audio guide provides narration for your tour of Alcatraz
  • A guide escorts you through the maze of vibrant streets that makes up the heart of Chinatown

What's Included

  • Alcatraz Island Ticket including round trip ferry and audio guide
  • Guided walking tour of Chinatown and North Beach
  • Expert local guide
  • Tasting and demonstration at Golden Gate Fortune Cookie Factory
  • Special hand-made, custom fortune cookie to go
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel Pick-Up/Drop-Off
  • Lunch

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 10 Mark Ln
    10 Mark Ln, San Francisco, CA 94108, USA

    Meeting Point: 10 Mark Lane (The Irish Bank) Your guide will be holding a Walks sign.

End point

  • San Francisco
    San Francisco, CA, USA

    End point varies

What To Expect


1 hour 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Grant Avenue

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • This is a walking tour. Guests should be able to walk at a moderate pace without difficulty.
  • All guests must supply the name and birthdate of everyone visiting the island at least 10 days prior to your tour. Should you fail to provide these, your reservation will be canceled.
  • All guests (over 18) must bring ID on the day of their tour. Without ID, Alcatraz Cruises will not release your ticket for you to travel to Alcatraz.
  • Last-minute amendments are not possible due to the venue regulations.
  • COVID UPDATE. Walks complies with all local government regulations. You may need to wear a mask or provide proof of vaccination to enter certain venues. Please refer to San Francisco government guidelines for the most up to date information.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

I would wear comfortable shoes and always bring a jacket!
56 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 56 reviews
Very well Organized
AFRAH_A, Dec 2022
I arrived on time and found my tour guide waiting for me & there were two couples were supposed to join us but they didn’t show up so we’ve decided to go on time. Tour guide was extremely friendly and knowledgeable and she helped me out with few recommendations during my stay in San Francisco & we ended up at the Ferry entrance to Alcatraz Jail Island which was amazing and must be visited when in San Francisco 👍🏻
Super tour!
January_M, Oct 2022
We were so fortunate to be the only tourists for Maggie to entertain! Totally informative and awesome experience! Great tour! Highly recommend!
Could have been much better.
Joyce_J, Aug 2022
We had expected to have lunch in Chinatown. We were somewhat disappointed that our tour guide, in front of foreign nationals, expressed that the entire United States was stolen. Our guide was interested in the street art, so that’s mostly what we saw.
lots of history
Gary_N, Aug 2022
we both wanted to see Alcatraz and got to, learning of the fire was cool, and how they reclaimed the brick. Seeing the different spots in China town then returning to them later to shop was very enlightening fulfilling and worth the walk. Yes we would do this at a later date if we return to S/F.
Great day in Chinatown/Alcatraz.
Shelyn_P, Jul 2022
Maggie was a great tour guide. Knowledgeable and so pleasant. 5 stars. Alcatraz tickets were not until 3:20 which made for a long day but Maggie kept us entertained until boarding.
Fabulous walking tour of China town, North Beach and Alcatraz it’s a must!
Hazel_S, Jun 2022
Maggie our tour guide was fabulous. She was so knowledgeable and full of fascinating information we loved the tour and the highlight was Alcatraz it was amazing and so much more. Thank you walks tours for an amazing trip we will never forget it.
Waukisha_S, Nov 2021
Maggie was an awesome tour guide. She made Chinatown come to life through her stories. Alcatraz was amazing as well....wld be better if we had a life tour guide but the audio was okay
Response from Host, Nov 2021
Dear Waukis, We are thrilled to read you had such a good time with Maggie on our Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown tour, and that she was able to make both sites come alive for you! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we really hope to walk with you again soon! Warm regards,
Worth the money
stanlbutler, Nov 2021
The guide was very knowledgeable about the tour. It was great. The only thing that was a bit irritating was if it was a china town tour then why were all the places we were given to eat Italian?
No China Town in back alley!
Annette_M, Sep 2021
We went to 10 Mark Lane via taxi ($20.00) to pick up our voucher for China Town guided tour. When we got there at 9:25 a.m. it was a back alley and no one was there, we drove around knocked on doors, there wasn’t anyone there to pick up any voucher, so we missed out on China town, which we paid for a head of time. We had the taxi take us to Montgomery street to get our Alcatraz voucher, we were four hours early!!
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Hi Annette, Thank you for supplying your feedback. We are unsure what exactly happened but our meeting time is 10:00 am with the guide arriving at 9:45 am. This is stated in all our communication. Mark Lane is a short alley in the midst of a thriving neighborhood where we can gather safely and without interruption. Again, I am sorry you didn't get to the right place at the right time and we will take a closer look at how we could have helped you a bit more. Sorry again!
Stacey_W, Sep 2021
Maggie the tour guide was wonderful. Very knowledgeable and very detailed. She is very personable and i hope to see her again.
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Thanks for taking a moment to provide a review of our tour and guide - we really appreciate the time you took to do this. We too hope you see us and Maggie again on another visit to San Francisco!
Alcatraz & Chinatown
Evett_B, Aug 2021
Alcatraz is an amazing place to visit. Chinatown history was very interesting and the tour guide was very knowledgeable. There is a lot of walking though. Comfortable shoes are a must.
Response from Host, Oct 2021
We agree that Alcatraz is pretty epic. Thank you for spending your time in San Francisco with us and hopefully next time you are in our city (or any of our cities!) you will join us again.
Lotta walking
LYNN_S, Aug 2021
Tour was ok. Lots of walking. 6-7 miles in total. Difficult to hear guy when walking. Would have been nice to have some kind of parking guide and return options listing.
Walking tour of San Francisco
Evonne_N, Aug 2021
Enjoyed learning about the history of Chinatown and North Beach. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.
Prison break
Kaylee_B, Jul 2021
Maggie was a great tour guide and made our experience well worth it! I would recommend to any travelers.
Response from Host, Jul 2021
Hi Kaylee, We love your review! Thank you so much - we will of course pass your amazing comments on to Maggie!
Bad experience all around
Steve_M, Jul 2021
The experience on the rock was tremendous, but getting the tickets was horrendous. We were instructed to go to a meeting place in the city, upon arrival we met up with other groups waiting for the tour guide. We waited for a hour and half and no one ever showed up, we attempted to contact the company but we're unsuccessful.People in the other groups were able to make contact with someone and we were told to go to pier 33. Upon arrival at the location we secured our tickets and we're told because we're late we would be put on standby. After waiting about 30 minutes we boarded the boat and went to alkatraz. We never received our guided tour to china town, for the amount of time wasted this was a astronamical loss rest assured we will never book with this company again.
Response from Host, Jul 2021
We want to start by apologizing for the confusing information you got regarding the meeting place. Recently, there have been some changes due to Covid and our instructions were mixed between dates and distributors - a few dates with misleading instructions went out that should not have. Again, we apologize and cannot apologize enough we were part of any disturbance in your trip.
Horrible Experience
Terri_R, Jul 2021
Our flight was cancelled out of Fl the night before our scheduled tour so we did not get to go. Walking Tours would Not refund any of our 693.00. Although we tried to cancel as soon as JetBlue cancelled out flights with no other flights available, it was less than 24 hrs prior to our scheduled tour. Our Girl Scout Troop had saved for years for this trip and are devastated by this HUGE loss. We are very disappointed that we could not get a retund or vouchers that we could use next summer when we plan on rescheduling this trip. We are not sure we will be able to take this tour next year because of the lack of funds. Please be aware of their unwillingness to work with anyone during the ever changing issues cause by the COVID pandemic. In our case, it was the lack of employees available to actually man the airplane. In fact, our flight was “delayed” for several hours before actually being cancelled.
Response from Host, Jul 2021
Hello Terri, I was really sorry to read this review. Our tours are refundable up to 24hours but within that time we do try to find a solution that works for our guests. On investigation, I see you were reimbursed with vouchers to the full value of your tour. If there is anything else we can do to assist please do contact us again.
Awesome day trip
Sofya_M, Jul 2021
Maggie was awesome! She came a little early and was ready to answer all of our questions. She made sure everyone was set up with the audio tour before we went on the Island. She even had a list of different places we can eat on our break between alcatraz and the China town tour. Once we met again for the second part, Maggie had great insight of the area! The history tour was great but her personal experiences made the tour so easy going and relatable. She showed us areas we would have never seen if we didn't do the second part of the tour. Overall we were so comfortable with her and had such a great time. I would wear comfortable shoes and always bring a jacket!
Do not use this tour company!!
Andrea_B, Jul 2021
Not fun day. Alcatraz was of course great and Chinatown was ok- but the tour itself was a joke. They made us meet across the street at 10 (when tour started)- just to waste time and tell us to walk across the street and get in line by 11 to get on boat to Alcatraz. No guide- nothing but what a regular to let to Alcatraz could have done. THEN- we were supposed to kill 5hrs til we had to be in China town at 3:45. Not one single person from the 20 person tour group showed up except me and my son. It was ridiculous timing and very disappointing. The meeting point was literally in a dark alley at an Irish pub. Uber couldn’t even find it cuz it’s not a real road. A new guide Blair did our tour. He was fine. Just odd that the main lady passed it on to him. But she made sure to tell us she accepts and lives off tips. Sad really. DO NOT DO THIS TOUR
Response from Host, Jul 2021
We apologize your experience in our care was not the standard we have set for ourselves and the standard we always try to deliver to our clients. Our Alcatraz tour has recently been redesigned to address some of your concerns. We also apologize your guide solicited a gratuity - this is not within our policy and we have addressed it with the guide. Although you didn't feel the value in our tour - and a 1-star review puts a damper on our day, we value your feedback and have taken actions to assure our clients are only getting the best of the best.
My sons 13th Birthday weekend
Monica_P, May 2021
My sons 13th Birthday weekend. Everything was awesome!! My son and I had a great time!! We went on this tour and stayed at the Grand Hyatt, my son has never gotten to see SF at night. I got us a room with a city/bay view on the 28th floor and he was so stoked!!
Response from Host, May 2021
Hi Monica, so glad you and your son enjoyed your stay in San Francisco and our Alcatraz and Chinatown tour. Thank you for your feedback - it means the world to us to know we are part of your great memories.
Alberto_R, May 2021
Eddie was amazing, and super attentive to any question my group had. 10/10. Nice meeting you! Thanks again!
Response from Host, May 2021
I am so glad that you had such a lovely time with Eddy!