San Francisco

Full-Day Guided Tour of San Francisco with Alcatraz

San Francisco, United States

From $130.00

Select Date and Travelers

You will not receive a refund if you cancel.
  • 7 to 8 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Explore San Francisco on a small-group full-day tour that covers top attractions including Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, and Alcatraz. Get great views of the San Francisco Bay Area during the short ferry ride to Alcatraz Island, where you then take a self-guided audio tour of the infamous prison. Return to shore for your bus tour of destinations such as Nob Hill, the Haight-Ashbury, the Castro, the Mission, and Golden Gate Park. Includes hotel pickup and drop-off in San Francisco.
  • Small-group full-day San Francisco tour with Alcatraz
  • Learn about Alcatraz prison on a self-guided audio tour
  • Snap photos of the Golden Gate Bridge from Battery Godfrey
  • Includes round-trip ferry and audio tour of Alcatraz, guided bus tour, hotel pickup and drop-off from most hotels

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This small-group tour takes extra time for walks at the Ferry Building and Golden Gate Park.

What's Included

  • Hotel pickup from most hotels in downtown San Francisco, but do not pick up outside SF city limits
  • Expert guide and commentary
  • Transportation to/from attractions (vehicle depends on group size)
  • Free Wifi on vehicle
  • Round-trip ferry from San Francisco to Alcatraz Island (US$41.00 value)
  • Gratuities
  • Child safety seat for children under 8 years old or 4' 9" (1.4 meters) required
  • Food and drinks
  • Transportation back to hotel after Alcatraz

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

08:30 AM

End point

  • Pier 33
    San Francisco, CA 94133, USA

    You will need to make your own way back to your hotel after Alcatraz.

Pickup details

For Hilton Union Square - meet at the Mason street entrance (Eastern entrance). For other locations, please meet outside hotel main doors. If your hotel is not listed, please select Hilton Union Square or Hotel Zephyr Fisherman's Wharf or alternatively add your hotel and we will provide the closest pick-up location. You will be provided your exact pick-up location and time upon confirmation. Please always refer to the providers confirmation.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult.
  • California law requires tour guests to bring a car safety seat for all children under 8 years and under 4' 9" (1.4 meters) in height. Any guest that does not provide their child's safety seat at the time of the tour and does not inform the tour operator in advance may not be allowed to board the tour and will not be subject to refund.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Exact destinations & itinerary may differ due to weather, road conditions, and the guide's discretion.
  • For hotel pickups, if your hotel is not listed, please select the Hilton Union Square at 333 O'Farrell Street (the meeting point is outside the Mason Street entrance).
  • City Tour will last approx 4-5 hours and allow approx 3 hours for Alcatraz
  • Please note, Alcatraz departure time varies. You will be notified of the confirmed time closer to your departure date. Allow for extra time between the two tours
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Government issued ID is required to redeem your Alcatraz tickets
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 37 travelers

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos

    See more

    Traveler Tips

    Suggest doing tour early in your trip to give you ideas for rest of stay
    We definitely recommend this tour and hope that you too will get Tony as your guide/driver.
    Just use your time efficiently and it will run smoothly.
    60 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 60 reviews
    Nice overview of SF
    JeanYves_P, Dec 2022
    The guide was interesting to listen, he knew the city by heart and was a professional. I did the reservation and everything was ok with Viator(Paid,pick up location, date, hour….)the day before the excursion I received a message from Viator to advise me that the departure time was change and the employee at Viator said this is the time and that’s it. And you have to be there on time. So a had too change my planning for them. Note: the guide with the mini van was 15 minutes late ?
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    We are sorry to hear about the confusion around the pick up location and time. In the future, if you reach out directly to our Guest Services department @ (415) 357-0700 was can assist you with whatever you need. Travel safe home.
    Best tour ever
    Julie_M, Oct 2022
    The tour was fantastic, Joseph our tour guide was so knowledgeable and he was awesome answered any questions we asked . Jimmy our driver was great too would definitely recommend
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Thanks so much for your kind words. Let's tour again soon.
    Golden Gate tour with Alcatraz
    Demetrius_V, Sep 2022
    I would say what stood out the most was the trip to the Golden Gate Bridge. The tour guide was patient and let us take photos at our leisure. She also took us to places not mentioned in the tour description. I enjoyed the tour and would definetly recommend others to take this during their stay in San Francisco.
    Response from Host, Sep 2022
    We are thrilled that you had a great time on your City tour of San Francisco. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in SF!
    City tour
    Suzanne_S, Jul 2022
    Great way to see the city, we definitely wouldn't have seen as much on our own. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and fun.
    Response from Host, Jul 2022
    Thanks for taking the time to review your city tour experience. All the best!
    Guided tour of San Francisco and Alcatraz
    Jack_L, Mar 2022
    This looked like a fantastic tour to go on to make sure that you see all of San Fran as it is very spread out and easy to miss areas. Unfortunately we were not able to do the guided tour due to covid and places just starting to open back up not enough people signed up. The tour company were very good and got in touch in good time and offered us the alcatraz tickets and a refund or alcatraz and a hop on hop off bus tour. We accepted the hop on hop off bus tour. Thank you for keeping us updated and we appreciate the level of customer service We had an amazing time at Alcatraz it is so informative and has some stunning views. Well worth doing in San Fran. The hop on hop off tour allowed us to see parts of San Francisco that we definitely would not have seen or even known were there some lovely views. Thanks for a lovely day and the great customer service.
    Response from Host, Mar 2022
    I've passed your kind words on to our guest services department. They thank you for understanding and being flexible as San Francisco returns to opening its "Golden Gate" to visitors. Hope you can return this summer and see some more destinations and attractions. Take care.
    Teresa_B, Oct 2021
    Happy for all the tours 😎👍🛳⚓️⛩Experience was very nice to see San Francisco California. We did enjoy with the family
    Great tour but not all as advertised
    Alan_C, Aug 2021
    The tour guide Kimmy was great. Very knowledgeable and a lot of information. The tour did advertise hotel pickup and drop off but we were told by our tour guide when we were dropped off at Fisherman’s Wharf that when we got back from Alcatraz Island we had to find our own way back to our Union Square hotel. This is not what was advertised so be prepared to navigate San Francisco if you are not familiar with the city.
    Great, Friendly, and I learned something !
    Jamilla_L, Apr 2021
    The Golden Gate Bridge views and going around the city. Alcatraz was nice too!! It was a great tour that included one of my favorite places, Fisherman’s Wharf. Great tour guide too!!
    Response from Host, Apr 2021
    Sounds like the perfect day in San Francisco. Hope you got to enjoy some fresh crab (it's in season) on the Wharf. Take care!
    Excellent Tour
    Karen_A, Mar 2020
    Fantastic tour to do on our first day in San Francisco. Alcatraz was fantastic, we were on the first boat over. Pick ups were very efficient. The afternoon tour by Amanda was amazing. We went to places you would never go to on your own. Gives you an insight to the places you would want to visit again. We went over the Golden Gate Bridge and took some fabulous pictures. Lots of bathroom/coffee breaks. An excellent full day tour. Thank you
    Canceled tour
    neenerr, Feb 2020
    Do yourself a favor and find yourself a local company in SF. The company that Viator contracted with canceled our tour less than 24 hours before it was scheduled. They offered us a ln alternative that was much less expensive than what I had paid. After spending way too much time trying to rectify the situation, they sent an Uber (that was also a hassle and took three attempts to actually get) and we only did the Alcatraz part of the tour (which we still could have done for cheaper). Used Viator in Europe and had a great experience. In San Francisco it was a disaster.
    Not what you paid for tour
    Mara_R, Feb 2020
    No pick up / drop off (pick up offered but YBER link did not work) I could have bought the tickets to ALCATRAZ just as easy The small group tour was a ticket provided on the Big bus tour not what I expected or wanted Kept ringing me to confirm very annoying
    Excellent Tour. Brilliant Guid
    Julie S, Jan 2020
    Randall was a brilliant and informative guide on this excellent tour. We went to places we would never have discovered on our own
    Full Day Tour of Sand Francisco with Alcatraz - Amazing Experience
    Fernando_S, Dec 2019
    We were in San Francisco for just 1 day and got this tour that allowed us to see all the city and visit Alcatraz as well. Constaine our tour guide was knowledgeable and professional and made us feel like family
    Response from Host, Dec 2019
    We're so glad you had a great time seeing our wonderful city. We've passed your kind words on to Constantine.
    Great one-day tour of the city
    Bradley_W, Dec 2019
    This is a great tour to do on your first day visiting San Francisco. Getting to Alcatraz first thing in the morning was a great way to see it before the crowds later in the day. Then the afternoon was filled with driving around the city to see the sites with stops to take pictures. Don was knowledgeable and had stories and information about the sites. There is a lot of driving on this so if you get car sick - make sure you take that into account.
    Response from Host, Dec 2019
    Isn't this city tour with Alcatraz wonderful? Glad you got to explore the island prison and see our wonderful city. Let's tour again soon.
    Last Minute Reschedule with new Vendor
    Susan J, Nov 2019
    We had a last minute cancellation/reschedule with a new vendor. Company did call the day before we were scheduled for our tour stating that due to low enrollment they would not be providing the tour. I was at my conference and not in a place where I could hear them and/or receive the new instructions. I ended up calling the company back to verify the instructions and ask that they send me detailed instructions via email. Which, of course, was a good idea because we had to get to all of these places on our own. Instead of providing transportation, they sent an Uber which we could not find because there were unclear instructions as to where they were going to pick us up at the hotel that had three entrances. We spent the better part of 30 minutes running from door to door only to see the Uber tail lights as they cancelled the pickup and moved on. Of course the Uber driver did not have my contact info because I didn't make the reservation. Since the first Uber driver cancelled, I had to make another call to the company to send a new Uber. At this time, our contact was frustrated and said that if I couldn't figure it out this time that they would not send another Uber. Let's remember that transportation was supposed to be part of this package and it was not my last minute change/cancellation. We arrived at Alcatraz late due to Uber situation and had no instructions as to where we were supposed to pick up our prepaid tickets. After the Alcatraz visit we had to find our way and walk to the rescheduled tour bus operator for the second half of the tour. Overall, it would have just been easier and probably less expensive to just get our own Uber to the Alcatraz Tour and then schedule the city tour on our own. I would not recommend this trip.
    A Day With Constantine
    Safari51293684527, Oct 2019
    Had a great tour. Constantine was very knowledgeable and hit all the places we were interested it going
    Response from Host, Oct 2019
    We call Constantine the "professor" Glad to hear you had a great time! Tour with us again soon.
    Good tour - Alcatraz AM, City PM
    Don_B, Sep 2019
    Great tour - only one key issue. Seems to have been two disjointed tours "patched" together - Alcatraz and SF bus tour. After we were dropped off for Alcatraz, we were given no information on how/when to get our "real" Alcatraz tickets nor to second part of tour. Had to go to group ticket sales to get Alcatraz tickets. Then after Alcatraz, walk 1/2 mile to another hotel for second part of tour. Had to call for this info "on the run". Had assumed we would be picked up where left off. Only other issue is that I really don't consider a bus a "small group". Other than this, great tour and friendly staff.
    Response from Host, Oct 2019
    Thanks for your comments, they help us get better every day. Just so folks know...only the park service can do tours of Alcatraz so there is a bit of a pass off at the pier where you catch the ferry. Sorry if it seemed disjointed...we'll work on that. Please tour with us again!
    San Francisco City Tour With Alcatraz
    Laurence_N, Sep 2019
    Alcatraz exceeded expectations. Driver/Guide was skilled, knowledgeable and very entertaining. I highly recommend this tour.
    Response from Host, Sep 2019
    Glad that we were able to make your vacation to SF even more special. Come back again soon and try another tour!
    Small Group Trip to Alcatraz and Coach Tour on Same Day.
    CHARLES_M, Sep 2019
    This was a fantastic day out with the trip to Alcatraz Island in the morning and an excellent coach tour around San Francisco in the afternoon. The trip to Alcatraz was self managed but the afternoon was down to Kimberley entirely. What a competent and excellent host. Both as a great driver of the Bus and also as a commentator of the City. She fully deserves a 5 star rating from myself and my wife. CSDM Nottingham UK
    Response from Host, Sep 2019
    Kimmy earns her stars every day. It's wonderful to hear you had a great time.
    Excellent Navigation & Comprehensive Tour
    Chris_B, Aug 2019
    We covered a lot of SF in a short period of time. Some of the stops did feel a little rushed, but this was to be expected. Just use your time efficiently and it will run smoothly. Tony worked miracles under adverse driving circumstances and was always engaging with commentary. A great guy and a good tour!
    Response from Host, Aug 2019
    Thanks! Tony knows all the insider tricks for getting to SF's attractions even in the middle of summer. Glad you had a great time!