San Jose

Yosemite National Park and Giant Sequoias Trip from San Jose

San Jose, United States

From $249.00

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 14 to 15 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


See the towering sequoias and dramatic landscape of Yosemite National Park on a day trip from San Jose that combines Yosemite highlights with free time to explore. Take in Half Dome, Inspiration Point, and El Capitan, join a guide for an hour-long hike through Tuolumne Grove, then hike or bike through the Yosemite Valley on your own. With convenient, round-trip transport from San Jose and park entrance fees included, you can focus on the views and watch for wildlife along the way.
  • Visit Yosemite National Park
  • Drive through the gold rush towns of the Sierra Nevada mountains
  • Hike into the Tuolomne Grove
  • See the park's most scenic places
  • Free time to explore the Yosemite Valley
  • Enjoy commentary from a guide throughout the tour

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Visit Tuolumne Grove and get an optional picnic lunch with one of few Yosemite tours from San Jose.

What's Included

  • Expert guide and commentary
  • Entrance fee into Yosemite National Park
  • Gratuities
  • Child safety seat for children under 8 years old or 4' 9" (1.4 meters) required
  • Food and drinks, unless specified

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Signia by Hilton San Jose
    170 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113, USA

    Outside near where the airport shuttles come to pick up.

Start time

06:15 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Ansel Adams Gallery (Pass By)

Big Oak Flat Information Station (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Access to the Sequoia Grove can be difficult during winter months, generally October through April, and other activities may be substituted at the discretion of the guide.
  • During winter months, temperatures in Yosemite can vary drastically to the ones in San Francisco. Therefore, it is recommend to wear winter clothes, especially shoes or boots with rubber soles and treads.
  • California law requires tour guests to bring a car safety seat for all children under 8 years and under 4' 9" (1.4 meters) in height
  • As tour sizes vary, transportation is in either a 15-passenger minivan or a 41-passenger bus.
  • Tour makes stops at approximately 8:30am for breakfast, 1pm for lunch and on the trip back for dinner. Meals are not included.
  • Audio links available in Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, French, German, Korean, Chinese and Japanese. Specify language at time of booking under special requirements
  • You will either be picked up directly by the tour bus or be provided transportation to the tour bus in the East Bay.
  • The Giant Sequoia Grove is located at a higher elevation and the hike is dependent on trail conditions, especially from October through May. Ice and snow might make the trail unsafe to hike. The decision of whether it is safe to go on the hike will be made on a day by day basis. Therefore, a visit cannot be guaranteed. However, while the trail might be closed, guests get to spend more time in Yosemite Valley. There you can see all the other great sights Yosemite has to offer, including El Capitan, Inspiration Point, Half Dome, Yosemite Falls and more.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Exact destinations & itinerary may differ due to weather, road conditions, and the guide's discretion.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 41 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Had a very good guide (Dennis from Extranomical tours)for our one day trip to Yosemite National park. Her knowledge was very good and she was very courteous and patient
26 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews
Day in Yosemite
Gabrielle_L, Nov 2022
We booked the trip to leave from San Jose never in the description was it mentioned that we took an Uber from the hilton to Livermore equally it was never mentioned that an Uber would pick us up from Livermore my link did not work and a gentleman who came with us but not part of our group had to call someone to sort it out as his link didn’t work NOT GOOD ENOUGH this has to be explained before you book. The driver left us to fend for ourselves. Yosemite is beautiful and not my first visit but the bus driver needs to understand we do not need a constant narrative for what seemed like the whole journey I just want to relax and enjoy the journey it was way toooooooo much he needs to be quite and drive
Response from Host, Nov 2022
We apologize that is was not clear from our tour description that we arrange for a shuttle from certain East Bay locations to join the tour. These logistics help us get to Yosemite more quickly and give guests more time in the park. We will take a look at our tour description and find a way to highlight this beginning portion of the tour. Good to hear you enjoyed Yosemite! Let's tour again soon.
excellent trip
Eddie_W, Jun 2022
tour guide Denise was excellent, very lively n knowledgeable. she brought the yosemite experience to us in a difference view poibt
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Denise gives a fantastic tour to Yosemite. It's nice to know you enjoyed it. Let's do it again on your next trip.
Memorable trip
Pritesh_C, May 2022
It was fun, very beautiful. The trip was delayed by 30 mins due to other passages being late. But they did a great job in covering all the spots of Yosemite. Sufficient time and we'll coordinated.
Response from Host, May 2022
So glad you could join us on our Yosemite tour. And they it left you such great memories. Travel well!
Unforgettable trip to Yosemiteite
Srikrishnan_B, May 2022
Had a very good guide (Dennis from Extranomical tours)for our one day trip to Yosemite National park. Her knowledge was very good and she was very courteous and patient
Response from Host, May 2022
Thanks for you kind words about Denise and our tour. Please come back soon so we can try another San Francisco tour!
A memorable trip!
KeshavaBhat_P, Apr 2022
Pros * Driver was excellent and super friendly. We could see he was super passionate! * Very nice coverage of places and ample time at Yosemite highlights. All in a day! Cons * We had to take shuttle from San Jose to Livermore to get on the bus. And wait 30 mins in Livermore to actual bus to Yosemite. * We we finally boarded the Yosemite bus from Livermore, we had to sit on the last row in the bus :( Me and my wife, both 65+ had a bit of hard time getting on and off at every stop henceforth. I recommend to have few seats available for elderly in first few rows!
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience. You make a good suggestion and we will look to implement that immediately. Travel well!
All that glitters is not gold
Sanjai_S, Apr 2022
There is much hype of the park, except rocks, there is nothing extraordinary. The bus was pathetic, for hours together there was no rest room, and the bus also does not have stoppages for it. The driver was very unfriendly. Could not get the feel of the tour. At the final stop, were left to wander in the park with no guide. It was a complete waste of money.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Gosh, it's super rare that a person is not blown away by Yosemite...but everyone is different. We have a Satisfaction Guarantee and hope you will call our Guest Services department so we can make things right for you. (415) 357-0700.
Yesomite national Park & Sequia
UMESH_N, Jul 2019
Excellent trip to Yosemite, Sequoias is a disappointment as there is only one tree and not such a giant.
See Yosemite without the hassle of driving!
ANGELICA_B, Jun 2019
I'm so glad I booked this trip. I don't think I would have been able to make this drive on my own. As a solo traveler this tour was perfect. Josh was an A+ driver and excellent guide. Thank you, Josh!
While my tour of Yosemite was...
Lisa_P, Feb 2018
While my tour of Yosemite was amazing, out tour guide Aoka was awesome, the tour company was not. I paid a premium to leave from downtown San Jose instead of San Francisco. The morning of the tour I was waiting at the hotel at 6:30sm as instructed. Instead of a bus, coach or van an Uber driver pulled up, asked me my name and told me to come with him. Tour company called while this was happening and confirmed that I should get into the Uber. The driver then drove me for a ways out of town, pulled into a strip mall parking lot and told me we were here. I asked where I was supposed to go and he said he wasnt sure, and left me in the middle of the parking lot, I had zero idea what was going on. I called the number from the tour company and she told me to go hang out in the Starbucks and a van should be there in about 20 minutes. Sometime later I get another call saying that my driver has been waiting for me at the 7-11. I now board a full bus. We drive for about an hour, pull into a grocery store and we are told to shop for all the food we will need for the day, bus is locked for 1/2 hr so youre forced to walk aimlessly around the store. Great, amazing day touring Yosemite. Our driver was great, informative albeit a bit cheesy, but really put the effort into a nice day. Time to go home, once again after our mandatory 1/2 hour grocery store stop this time on our way home, I get dropped off in the middle of a parking lot, its DARK, Starbucks is closed, my phone battery is on fumes only half the buss charging ports worked after a 13hr day and Im suppose to wait there alone until a third party Uber driver is called and arrives. I had a dude in pickup truck harassing me while I waited for the Uber to arrive. Unsafe, unprofessional and NOT what I signed up for. What a disappointing ending to an otherwise beautiful day.
Response from Host, Feb 2018
TOUR OPERATOR REVIEW: Hi Lisa, We are glad that you had an enjoyable day out in Yosemite. We would like to apologize if the tour did not go as you had imagined it to. This particular tour option is new for us so we are making changes based on the reviews we receive from our valued clients. Thank you for taking the time to help us improve on our tours. We will be making changes to accommodate your issues. Kind Regards, Extranomical Tours.
The tour was very good, nice stops...
Evan G, Jan 2018
The tour was very good, nice stops and the tour guide Denise was friendly and informative. A few things though, I booked the trip departing from San Jose paying a premium over the tour departing from San Fransisco, the tour company wanted me to make my own way to San Fran for pickup anyway. I had to send quiet a few emails to explain I'd be departing from San Jose as the tour website described. Also we happened to book the tour on Martin Luther King Day a holiday in America, this means entrance to National Parks is free for the day, we however still paid for the price of park entrance in our tour cost. Basically the tour company had us pay the price of park entrance when there was no need to do so which I felt was dishonest.
Een "must see"
artfo2, Sep 2019
Een prachtig park. Zeker de moeite van een bezoek waard. Een kundige buschauffeur die ons veel interessante informatie gaf. Wel vond ik de prijs ex San José best hoog: $ 207.-- voor slechts 1 dag. Daar kwamen nog alle maatlijden plus een (flinke) fooi voor de chauffeur bovenop. Desalniettemin was het de moeite en het geld waard.
Response from Host, Oct 2019
We zijn blij te horen dat je een geweldige tijd hebt gehad. De volgende keer dat je hier in SF bent, laten we samen een andere tour proberen. Reis veilig.
mtmt567, Jul 2019
電話では日本語を受け付けていないようなので、こちらに書き込みます。以下の理由により返金を希望します。 ・5歳と9歳の子連れなのにバラバラの席に座らされた。 ・日本語ツアーなのに、何も日本語に対応していなかった。 ・一人分の席に納まらない人の隣に座らされたので、体が常に通路側へはみ出していた。 ストレスのせいか、妻は体調不良を訴えています。 以上。
Response from Host, Aug 2019
Please call our guest services office at 415 357 0700 as we have Chinese language speakers who can address any issue you found with your tour.