San Juan

Boriken Flavors-Roast Pork Hwy, Rum Tasting & Loiza Fritters

San Juan, Caribbean
Food Lovers Tour of San Juan
Likely to Sell Out

From $165.00

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 6 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Don’t leave sampling the best of San Juan’s classic cuisine to chance, ensure you pleasure your palate on this half-day food tour. Ideal for food lovers, this excursion showcases the best of San Juan’s casual culinary scene. Feast on snacks from local family-owned kiosks in Los Pionones and spend free time relaxing on Luquillo Beach. Snacks and bottled water will be provided and the best part is you eat what you cook.
  • Ideal for food lovers wanting to sample authentic Puerto Rican cuisine
  • Choose to purchase street food from local family-owned kiosks in Los Pinones
  • Relax on the white sands of Luquillo Beach
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off are included
  • Food samples are included

Sample Menu



Flaky dough stuffed with crab or beef



Similar to hush puppies but the matter is made with green bananas (not sweet) green plantains and cassava, stuffed with meat.


Puerto Rican Holiday Plate

Yellow Rice & Beans, Roasted Pork, Ribs, pasteles, and a few sides

What's Included

  • Food
  • Bottled water
  • Snacks
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Alcoholic Beverages
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

10:30 AM

Pickup details

Please enter your exact pick up location.

What To Expect

Your tour begins with pickup from your San Juan hotel. After boarding an air-conditioned vehicle, you’ll head straight for the food markets of La Placita de Santurce. On your visit, you will get to learn and taste some of our delicious treats such as quenepas, papaya, apple bananas, sweet pineapples, plantains, and more. 

The second stop is just a few steps away from Isla Verde, Los Pinones kiosks where local family-owned stalls exude tempting aromas. Here you will learn how to create dishes such as alcapurria, pastellios, and mofongo.

After lunch, choose between relaxing on the white sands of the nearby Luquillo Beach after Los Pinones’ arrays of stalls sell everything from crisp fritters and fresh seafood to Italian-inspired pasta dishes or returning back to your hotel.

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Operated by Real PR Travel

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
We had steph for the time and she was nothing short of amazing. She had excellent conversation- helped us get souvenirs- suggested great places. Helped with food prep and was engaged with us the whole time. I recommend you ask for her specifically when you book. If I could give 10 stars I would just for her alone. Food was tasty - alcapurrias were my favorite !


50 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 50 reviews
Cancel No warning no pickup
REYNA_R, Aug 2023
The tour never happened the driver never showed up , we waited for 2 hours! No pick ,No call nothing I called the company all they said was we will refund your money 3-7 business day, as well be careful if the tour company is Real PR stays they don't answer the phone or show up to pick you or call to cancel, my advice you're better off taking an Uber to the destination of choice so much cheaper which is what we ended up having to so .Worst experience ever..!!!
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Hi Reyna, So we’re a little confused because the day before we had requested a cancellation via viator. Due to a personal family emergency. We’re not to sure as to why you weren’t notified but we thought we had it taken care of. We deeply apologized for you having to wait, we truly would never want you to waste your day. But we do understand your frustration.
Not worth the expense
Pamela_L, Aug 2023
Leroy was a fantastic guide and quite knowledgeable but the overall logistics were not great. A good but of time was spent just driving. The food was great. This was our most expensive excursion with our group and the least favorite- if it didn’t cost so much, maybe it wouldn’t have felt like a disappointment.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Hi Pamela, thanks for your review. We’re sorry that you didn’t personally enjoy yourself on this tour. Although most of our feedback has has been absolutely amazing you are entitled to your own opinion. The prices includes all is the food that your taste, the privacy and personal attention of your tour the and the expenses that we incur to provide this tour . Thanks again
Great food and rum, and excellent guide!
Halley_C, Jul 2023
We did the tour that included the Ron de Barrelito rum distillery. It was fantastic. Our guide was Sarah. She was so nice and very knowledgeable. She gave us interesting facts and answered questions we had. All the food we had was delicious and the rum distillery was really cool. I actually liked the rum there more than Bacardi. We got to try pernil, rice and pigeon peas, pastelles, alcapurrias, passion fruit, and mofongo. Sarah also gave us recommendations for other places to check out in the area. She was lovely and the places we saw were too! We were a group of four (two couples).
Response from Host, Aug 2023
We take pride into sharing our food and rum. We are so thrilled to know that you had a great time tasting a bit of Puerto Rican food and drinks. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to plan your future travel plans!
Great experience
Carlina_C, May 2023
Sarah our tour guide made our experience memorable. She gave us history and facts and great conversation during our tour. I enjoyed learning and cooking and meeting the locals.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Carlina, we are so glad to know that you had a memorable experience! Thank you for choosing to plan your tour with us!
Delicious food!
carmen_b, Apr 2023
This was an amazing experience and we enjoyed every moment. Thank you Luis for being such an awesome tour guide!
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Hi Carmen! Thank you so much for your review! So glad you had a great time with Luis. Hope to see you on another tour next time🇵🇷❤️
February 2023 PR Visit
John_N, Feb 2023
The entire experience was great. Luis was great guide for the tour. He was very knowledgeable & fun.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hello! Thank you for your review. We are very happy to know you had a great time, hope to see you again next time you visit🇵🇷❤️
Tasting Puerto Rico
CharlesMatthew_S, Jan 2023
Great private tour. Tanya shared a lot of great information and her love for PR. She is really passionate about showing you the off-the-beaten-path places that help support the local business. If you like roasted pork this is the tour for you. The pork highway was really something cool to see and tasted amazing. We also got to sample a variety of local fritters and got to see some great scenery. I definitely recommend this tour if you'd like to see and taste the real Puerto Rico.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hi Charles! Thank you so much for your review. So happy you had a great time. Hope to see you on another tour on your next visit🇵🇷❤️
Great Tour Guides
Lauren_P, Nov 2022
We had such a great time with our guides Paola & Luis- we hope to do this tour again when we’re back in San Juan!
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Hey Lauren! We’re so happy that you guys enjoy this food tour with our best guides. We look forward to your return.
This is not the Puerto Rico I know.
Raymond_W, Mar 2022
I realize that the world is not perfect however if you want to celebrate a destination, you wouldn't include cooking in an unsanitary environment. The tour guide was uninformative and most of the tour was driving highways.
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Hello Raymond, we apologize you feel this way, we strive to support our local businesses and take all necessary health precautions. Some locations are further away since they are not touristic locations. We hope you will be able to enjoy and explore Puerto Rico in the future. Thank you for your review.
Avoid this tour!
Solomia_S, Dec 2021
This tour was the worst food tour we have ever taken, and we’ve taken many. It started with our guide Stephanie being 45 minutes late; so she recommended we get breakfast while we are waiting for her to arrive. Breakfast before the food tour??? We rode on the car in total silence for most of the time. The vendor was not ready when we arrived, so Stephanie took us to see a cave, which we were not really interested to see, and where our guide had facts wrong while telling a story about the cave. There was much more standing around and waiting back at the vendor. We didn’t get a real cooking lesson as promised as well. We didn’t prepare any of the ingredients or even watched them bring prepared. We just sealed a dumpling and put a mixture of meat and plantain into a form. Nothing was explained to us about the history of culinary traditions of the island. Overall it was just a terrible waste of our time and our money. They misadvertise! The description of the tour says visiting nearly 60 kiosks with food. We visited one. Snacks were promised—we got none. The tour was supposed to last for 3-3.5 hours, ours was less than 2. At the end we only eat two small fritters at one food kiosk. At the end our guide had the nerve to suggest that we go on our own to old San Juan to experience authentic cuisine, after we paid $540!!!
Response from Host, Jan 2022
As, the owner of the company I will greatly apologize on the lack of service that was provided to you this day by our guide. We completely understand your frustration and agreed that you weren't given the service that was you paid for which is why we refunded $200 dollars of your money. However, you failed to mention the way that you mistreated our guide who was trying to make up for not only being late but also for our vendor not being ready. Also you guys turned your nose up at the local area that you were taken to when this is an area that not only locals visit regularly, but also Jimmy Kimmal has filmed in this local area. Our company informs how much we support local small business and we have been taking people to this area for over the course of 4yrs. We do agree that the service provided to you could of been better, but we also believe people shouldn't be belittled or mistreated for their mistakes.
Enjoyed going and trying authentic food
Heide_P, Nov 2021
Nice food tour. Enid was wonderful and she always made sure we were ok and taken care of. Food was great.
Response from Host, May 2022
Hi , we are happy Enid made your experience a memorable one! Thank you for booking with us and we hope to see you again soon! 🇵🇷❤️
Must book
Kristina_R, Sep 2021
We had steph for the time and she was nothing short of amazing. She had excellent conversation- helped us get souvenirs- suggested great places. Helped with food prep and was engaged with us the whole time. I recommend you ask for her specifically when you book. If I could give 10 stars I would just for her alone. Food was tasty - alcapurrias were my favorite !
Response from Host, Sep 2021
WOW! Thank you Kristina for this amazing review. We are so pleased that you had fun in Puerto Rico and with Steph. We hope you come back and have more adventures with us. Blessings! -Real PR Tours
Very frustrating
Eve_K, Aug 2021
I contacted the travel company multiple times times and they never showed up to pick us up. We kept being told we would "hear from them soon". After 90 minutes we were told they couldn't find the tour guide, so the trip never happened.
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Hi Eve, we completely understand your frustration and we deeply apologize for the lack of communication. Unfortunately our guide had a family medical emergency in the middle of the night and was unable to communicate with our staff in time to find someone to cover her tour. We definitely do not intend on leaving clients waiting, so we did make an attempt to try a find an available guide last minute and unfortunately, we couldn’t get one. Our apologies once again.
Food was amazing. Ask for Yuma
heather_F, Jul 2021
One of the best tours on the island. Yuma was absolutely amazing. She took her time and allowed us to shop and really enjoy the food and culture. She explained everything perfectly and was filled with knowledge and information. Thanks Yuma u made my trip even better.
Response from Host, Jul 2021
YAYY! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with Yuma. It's a pleasure to serve you. We can't wait to see you again. Blessings. -Real PR Tours
Not as described
jjbierin, Jan 2020
This tour wasn't really what we were expecting. Our guide was friendly and personable, most of the food we ate was delicious, and Los Pinones was a cool place we wouldn't have seen otherwise. However, a lot was off. First, we received no response to our attempts to communicate until 14 minutes before the tour was supposed to start, so we were wondering if it was even happening. The text we received asked if we were still interested, even though we'd already paid. The tour started an hour late and instead of being a 4-6 hour tour, it was 2 hours and 20 minutes. Granted, some of that was because we couldn't go to the beach due to a high surf. In Los Pinones we went to exactly one food stall, not 60; we didn't even walk around. We were hoping to get an idea of what and maybe where to eat for the rest of our trip, trying small pieces of different things. We ate the entirety of three things and a couple of fruits. It wasn't a bad experience, but certainly not what we paid for.
Response from Host, Jan 2020
Hi good morning, Iet me first apologize for the communication issues. I’m not sure if you’re aware of the on going earthquakes here on the island but it has caused a very unreliable communication system here in the island, but someone should of had reached out to you at least 24hrs prior. Also I think that there was a little misunderstanding regarding the tour that you choose. The tour that was chosen was the half day food tour w/beach clean up. Which consists of a local farmers market, cooking & tasting in Pinones and the 40 min beach clean up..and with the weather being very bad the volunteering was not an option. This tour is generally should be 3.5-4hours long. Our tour the that is up to 6 hours with the 60 different kiosks would be a full day tour. So I’ll make sure to specify that a little more clearer on our ad. We truly do appreciate you’re honest feedback so we can make the necessary changes. Thank you again for your input.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Boriken Flavors-Roast Pork Hwy, Rum Tasting & Loiza Fritters


6 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Rum Tasting Tour - Casa BACARDÍ Puerto Rico


1 hour 15 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Flavors of San Juan Food Tour


3 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do