San Luis Obispo

Essential Downtown SLO: A Self-Guided Audio Tour

Badge of ExcellenceSan Luis Obispo, United States

From $6.99

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 35 minutes to 2 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Learn all about San Luis Obispo’s highlights and history—and enjoy a totally independent way to explore—on this self-led audio walking tour. Upon booking, download the audio tour, and use it whenever you’d like, as it never expires. Set off at a time that works best for you, and get ready to glimpse local landmarks like the Palm Theatre, Mission San Luis Obispo, Bubblegum Alley, and much more.
  • Beat the crowds and explore independently with this self-led tour
  • This good-value smartphone audio tour never expires
  • Explore San Luis Obispo on foot, and see its major attractions
  • Learn little-known stories and history from the audio commentary

What's Included

  • Lifetime access to this tour in English
  • VoiceMap app for Android and iOS
  • Offline access to audio, maps, and geodata
  • Smarphone and headphones
  • Transportation
  • Food and drinks
  • Tickets or entrance fees to any museums or other attractions en route

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 842 Palm St
    842 Palm St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401, USA

    The tour begins near the parking garage exit facing the Palm Theatre across the street. Before arrival, install the VoiceMap app and use the code provided on your ticket. This is a self-guided audio tour that you can start, pause, or restart any time and complete at your own pace.

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 1/1/2021 - 4/19/2024

    Monday - Sunday : 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM

End point

  • San Luis Obispo Repertory Theatre
    888 Morro St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401, USA

    This is where the tour ends

What To Expect

Ah Louis Store (Pass By)

Palm Theatre (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more
19 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-4 of 19 reviews
Better than expected!
Jessica_Z, Jan 2023
Amazing tour! My boyfriend and I enjoyed it more than we expected we would. Very interesting and easy to use/navigate.
Great experience and will use it for other cities
Maria_C, Aug 2022
Loved the hidden alleyways and the history if the buildings. Rimar was excellent and so very patient with us retired ladies-he deserves a medal and a raise!
Fun self guided tour
Robert_W, Jul 2022
Fun self guided tour and cool concept. I have been to SLO many times (with two kids going to Cal Poly) but did not know the history of SLO and enjoyed the walk.
Reyna_B, May 2022
The add is misleading I even called before the purchase and of course is NOT refunded even though I don’t get to use it. Not happy with this experience
Response from Host, May 2022
This is a somewhat unfair review Reyna. The tour is clearly titled "A Self-Guided Audio Tour", and in the description the fact that you need to use the VoiceMap app and do the tour independently is made even more clear. But from what I can tell you have left this review, calling our listing misleading, because you thought this was a tour with a guide and you would be met at the starting point. In addition to this, when you contacted us for support, saying that there was no guide at the starting point, we responded in 3 minutes clarifying that this was a self-guided tour. That was the last time we heard from you. If you had explained that you mistook this for a guided tour and that you didn't have a phone or headphones to do the tour with the VoiceMap app, we would probably have offered you a refund.