Day Tours of Lewis

Na h-Eileanan an Iar, United Kingdom
Day Tours of Lewis and Harris

From $116.73

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 5 to 6 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


See the best of the Isle of Lewis on this guided day tour. Your guide will fill you in on all the must-know details about the Hebridean island's distinctive history and culture while you visit such sites as the 5,000-year-old Callanish Standing Stones, the 19th-century Blackhouse, Arnol, and the 2,500-year-old Carloway Broch.
  • Explore the Isle of Lewis on a comprehensive day tour
  • See sites dating from up to 5,000 years ago
  • Learn about Lewis' rich history from your guide
  • Smaller group size (16 max) means a more intimate experience

What's Included

  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Lunch

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

We pickup by request from just about anywhere. Stornoway Airport, Stornoway Harbour, Caledonian Macbraynes Office, Perceval Square, Stornoway.

What To Expect

Callanish Standing Stones

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

The Blackhouse, Arnol

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Carloway Broch

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Bosta (Bostadh) Iron Age House

40 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more


36 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews
Isle of Lewis Day's Tour Sept 23.
Cheryl_B, Sep 2023
Thank you very much Annie for the great tour with you this week. We really enjoyed it and being with the lovely group just made our day. You worked so hard to make the tour enjoyable and we got the most out of it with your historical facts and stories and your passion for your island. We enjoyed the Iron Age House tour with Paul very informative, interesting, and an eye opener of past times we did not know. Kindest regards Cheryl & Allisdair.
Wonderful memories
Mary_M, Sep 2023
Been wanting to visit Callanish for years the Blackhouse was a bonus. The trip was very good and gave us a real taste of Lewis (especially the roll with Stornoway black pudding fab). A little miscommunication before the pick up but the trip itself very well organised and so informative. The drive across Lewis was great and the views of Harris. Lovely day out
Gorgeous heather l
Gail_P, Aug 2023
Long but fantastic tour. Highly recommend. Most beautiful heather and scenery. Wonderful informed guide.
Wonderful experience!
Cristina_C, Aug 2023
I enjoyed a lot that tour! The guide Annita is so kind and she showed me all the best of Lewis! I feel so happy! Thank you!
Fabulous exploration of Lewis
Sue_A, Aug 2023
Annie gave me a great insight into past and present life in Lewis. Very generous with her time, she cheerfully answered my many questions allowing me to better understand this part of Scotland. She was knowledgeable and took me to many interesting places. I am very glad I did this tour and would thoroughly recommend it.
Not as Represented
rrc5584, Aug 2023
The tour was not as represented. We did not stop at two of the three "stops" listed. We were told we could not stop at the Black House because there were two cruise ships in town (we were from one of them) and the tour operator "could not" get tickets for our coach to stop. We were not told this at the time we left the port. We only drove by this site. We were told we could not go to the iron age site because it was too far away, yet it was listed on the description. We had to send multiple emails to finally get a partial refund.
Tour guide cancelled on day of the tour
Olina_L, Jul 2023
Unfortunately the tour did not take place due to the tour guide cancelling after the arranged meeting time on the day of the tour. I was offered a partial two hour tour for the same price and I did not feel this was worth it so I declined and immediately was met with a quite abrupt and annoyed tour guide. Thankfully, I was able to initiate a refund through the Viator website and had a lovely tour from a guide that was offered to me via the tourist information office in the town. Be careful booking this tour. I suggest looking at other options possibly the Hebridian island tours which can be found on TripAdvisor.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Hi Thank you for this review. Refund was given Reason for this was due to family circumstances beyond anyone's control ( a sudden family bereavement) this was cancelled Family first
More stones
CYNTHIA_M, Jul 2023
Culloden stones were the highlight. Wish there had been more of a focus on the stones. Perhaps also visit the other stone sites nearby. Bragh was really interesting. Learned all about the importance of peat @ the Black house.The cruise ship guests were anxious to get back to their boat, so stones first, then Bragh, then peat would have been my preference. Annie was a lovely host.
Exceptional Tour Guide
Ken_M, May 2023
This tour was Incredible - a good balance of information and plenty shown and explained. Plenty of photographs taken and a very enjoyable experience. Great guide
Fantastic tour of the beautiful Isle of Lewis
Ylva_I, Oct 2022
We booked this tour last minute, after having to walk to our hotel and thus realizing the busses aren't always reliable on Lewis. We really wanted to see the Callanish stones. This tour was absolutely amazing and delivered! Annie is knowledgeable not just about history but also about the people and community and told us many interesting stories. She also surprised us by taking amazing pictures at each location of my partner and me together so we had something to remember the day by! We will cherish those for sure! We had a lovely day and she kindly drove us to the airport after the tour as well. We highly recommend spending the day with Annie and seeing more of the beautiful Isle of Lewis!
Not reliable
SantanaCatherine_B, May 2022
Our tour was scheduled at 10h30. The night before, the guide called us at 22h15 to tell us she couldn't make it and ask tonpush the tour at 14h00. In the morning we realized that the attractions on the list close at 16h00. We tried to contact her to ask for a refund because we had found another guide, but she answered our message at 12h30. At that point, we figured we might as well keep our tour with her and see what we could. At 13h45, she calls us back saying she can't make it until much later. We ended up not taking the tour at all and paying a fortune to get to the attractions in a taxi. We came all the way to Stornoway for this specific tour, had we known we wouldn't have put this location on our itinerary. We strongly advise against booking this tour, especially if you are coming to Stornoway specifically for it. She is absolutely not reliable.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thank you for your review. Due to unforeseen family circumstances. It was unfortunate that this tour did not go ahead. Client was offered aanother option despite this had already made their own plans.. Money was fully refunded.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Day Tours of Lewis


6 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Guided Day Tour of the Isle of Lewis


4 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Day Tours of Harris in the Outer Hebrides


6 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Virtual Live Private Outlander Tour


1 hour 10 minutes
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do