Best of Siena Guided Walking Tour

Siena, Italy

From $22.90

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 hour 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Maximize time in Siena with a guided walking tour through the medieval city streets. Starting from the Basilica of San Domenico, pass through Piazza del Campo and see the Palazzo Pubblico (Town Hall). Then, head to the Cathedral to admire its architecture and the beautiful polychrome marble. Upgrade your experience to include a guided tour of the cathedral's interior.
  • Explore Siena’s medieval city center with a guided tour
  • Learn about the history and architecture of the Siena Cathedral
  • Experience the culture of a local district, called a Contrada
  • Hear stories about Siena’s famous Palio horse races

What's Included

  • Guided Visit with Professional local Guide
  • Only if option selected: Siena Cathedral & Libreria Piccolomini entrance fee and guided visit
  • Monolingual Guided Visit
  • Gratuities
  • if selected options without Cathedral: entrance ticket to Siena Cathedral

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Piazza San Domenico
    Piazza S. Domenico, 53100 Siena SI, Italy

    at 02:45 pm at SIENA: at Piazza San Domenico - in front of San Domenico Basilica

Start time

02:45 PM

End point

  • Duomo di Siena
    Piazza del Duomo, 8, 53100 Siena SI, Italy

What To Expect

Basilica Cateriniana San Domenico

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Piazza del Campo

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Centro Storico di Siena

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Duomo di Siena

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • We suggest to wear comfortable shoes and appropriate clothing is recommended to visit places of worship
  • Near public transportation
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • The local guide service could be provided in two languages.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos


24 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews
Marianne_L, May 2023
Never found the guide dispite waiting a long time and making fouls of ourselves asking around trying to find them. We contacted Viator, they refused to give a refund and didn’t provide any other option. We were still there for a couple days, they would not rebook us. Just kept our money for a tour we never had.
Response from Host, May 2023
Good morning from Caf Tour & Travel, Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We regret reading that you couldn't take part in the Siena Walking Tour. On your Viator’s voucher are clearly reported both the Meeting Point and the Emergency Phone Number. In case of problems, you are requested to contact our Offices that would be more than happy to support you and to offer a dedicated assistance on site. Sometimes people when traveling, may be unfamiliar with meeting point, and our team is there to help. Clarified that, from our records you did a no-show, and didn’t call any of our numbers to inform or to ask for assistance. We are really sorry that you didn’t had the opportunity to enjoy our tour, but as clearly stated on Viator’s T&C, for no-shows any refund is due. Hoping that the above clarifications would meet your understanding, Kind regards
Short and sweet tour
irongirlchris, May 2023
This was a short tour with just enough information about the duomo and history of Siena. If you’re looking for something more in depth, I’d go with a different tour. It was just right for me to use as a launching point for further exploration of Siena. It was perfect for the price I paid.
Do This!
Linda_L, May 2023
The guide’s love of the city came through in her tour! I’m glad I signed up for this ‘climbing’ experience!
Response from Host, May 2023
Good afternoon from Caf Tour & Travel, Dear Linda, Thank you for taking the time to write your nice review. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed the walking tour in Siena! We will definitely share your kind words with the guide that led the tour. Looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our activities. Best regards
Challenging start but turned out good
Cheryl_A, May 2023
The tour itself was good and our guide was knowledgeable. However, it started 30 minutes late without any contact from Viator and difficulty reaching someone to find out if our guide was coming. There were many other groups at the pick up spot and it was very disorganized at first. In the end all turned out good, but in the future I’d book a private tour rather than with the large group.
Poorly managed tour
Elizabeth_H, May 2023
Our tour with CAF was very poorly managed from start to finish. We arrived at the designated meeting point 20 minutes early. There was a tour starting, but when we asked, we were just told it was not ours. We asked another guide who came out of the first attraction, who said yes it was our tour but there was no additional audio equipment b/c the guy had left so we would need to "keep up". I called Viator in Florence who got us on the "same" tour 45 minutes later. We went and saw the same guy who was giving out the equipment where we were told "not your tour" and he said "hi, again." We paid for a 2 hour tour which started at 3:37 pm. We were done at the duomo at 4:38 pm. We paid for an English tour, but our tour was delivered in english and then repeated in spanish for some additional patrons further diluting the amount of information we got. The guide was nice but a poorly managed experience for our one day in Siena. VERY disappointed. They did agree to refund our tour cost after I complained, but we don't get that day in Siena back.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Customer, thank you for sharing with us your detailed experience. First of all, we express our sincere regret seeing you were disappointed by our activity. We always do our best to provide our customers with memorable experiences. That being said, we would like to inform you that we authorized Viator to process a refund for the inconvenience caused. Kindly keep your Viator account monitored. We truly hope to have again in the future the chance to welcome you in one of our activities. Our Best Regards
Siena Walking tour and Duomo
Marcello_R, Apr 2023
The all group enjoyed the Tour The tour guide was very knowledgeable we enjoyed yhe duomo very much. we highly recommend the tour.
Competent and entertaining
Astrid_W, Oct 2021
Traveling by myself, I generally sign up for walking tours in foreign cities. Sylvia was an excellent guide through Siena, including the inside of the Duomo. She is competent, attuned to her specific audience, and entertaining in her presentation and I formal chats.
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Dear Astrid_W, many thanks for your kind feedback! We are really happy to see your appreciation for our Siena walking tour that you joined with our professional guide Silvia. We hope to meet you again in the future. Our best regards
Not recommended
Jorie_S, Sep 2020
Half an hour too late, the tour started (3:30 instead of 3). The two of us had to join a larger group, which clearly had a different program. The English of the guide (an older lady) was OK, yet not very entertaining (no story line). After one hour we were already 'done'. Conclusion: very expensive for just an hour, no recommendation.
Response from Host, Sep 2020
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking time to write this review as for us it’s helpful to improve the quality of our service. We are sorry for the slight delay, pointing out that the guided visit starts at 3:15 as showed on the voucher and not at 3:00 pm. However we understand that the time lost was recovered according the expected duration. Let us say that the guide has many years of experience in doing this job and her competence and skill are proven by many positive reviews received over the years. Actually it’s the first time that someone bring to our attention the fact that she is not very entertaining and make sure that we will point out to her what you have noticed so that she will try to improve this aspect of her job. Also we clarify that you took part to a collective tour with the same program where people have the possibility to choose different options. In your case, you have booked the option including only the external visit of the Cathedral (not the interior visit) which has a different price, however if you wished you could ask the guide to pay the difference on the spot and follow her inside the Cathedral. Many thanks for your feedback and kind regards
Siena walking tour
Audrey_S, Aug 2020
We had a very good and competent guide, who covered the main areas of Siena, however our group was split between French and English which reduced the effective flow of the tour and information.
Response from Host, Sep 2020
Thank you for taking time to write this review and let us say that we are proud to know that you have greatly appreciated our guide. Also we would like to clarify that if you are part of a collective tour, the guide service could be in two languages as it’s stated on our general conditions and this is quite normal for such a kind of tour. However our competent and skill guides are able to give exhaustive information in both languages. Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our tour. Kind regards
very enjoyable tour
Francis_B, Sep 2019
I absolutely loved this tour. The community life of Siena and the history that brought this community life to be was absolutely fascinating to hear. One thing was brought up by my mom, she thought that the tour was a little too centered on the horse race. I haden't thought so myself, but thinking back on it when she did the remark I found it to be good. I wouldve prefered to hear even more about the community life (of which the horse races is an important part I know, but lets say different parts) or the history of the city.
Very good
BELL_B, Aug 2019
Italian guide sharing a lot of her knowledge with obvious pleasure. Detailed information on the town, its history and customs. Definitely worth the price!
Good and knowledgable tour guide, but half of the tour was in German
Stephen C, Aug 2019
I enjoyed the tour and like the tour guide a lot. However our tour was split between English and German, so I feel that half of the time is a bit wasted. When we booked the tour I remember selecting English tour.
Great Siena Tour
Clay_C, Jun 2019
This was a great way to see and understand the Siena traditions, buildings, and history. The guide was competent, friendly and easy to understand. I had been here before but this tour filled in the blanks!
Excellent tour
Sangeeta S, Oct 2018
Very informative. The tour of the Cathedral was amazing and the guide was so knowledge and helpful. Helped me arrange for a taxi back to the station and waited with me until it came.
El sabor de las...
AngelRicardo_A, Apr 2023
El sabor de las calles,los pasadizos medievales,la Santidad de la casa de Santa Caterina,el arte y la magnificiencia que todo lo envuelve y nos abraza
Maravillosa ciudad, experiencia un poco cara para lo que ofrece
ANGELA_R, Jun 2022
La guia conocía perfectamente Siena y la información que daba era interesante, el precio me parece un poco elevado para lo que es la visita, pero sobretodo si eliges la visita a la catedral, porque una vez que acaba el tour guiado en la catedral no tienes opción de visitar por tu cuenta el baptisterio ni el resto de la catedral, tienes que volver a comprar billetes para la catedral combinado con el resto porque aunque incrementa en 12€ el precio de la visita, tu entrada a la catedral es la de 5€ que no te da esas opciones
Siena un tuffo nel passato
Dario_L, Oct 2020
Il tour della città è stato molto interessante. La guida preparata e simpatica ci ha raccontato Siena. Unico neo il tour non corrisponde alla descrizione. Nessuna visita al museo di una contrada ne la visita ad una contrada ( se pur durante il tour abbiamo approfondito l'argomento). Ho aperto una contestazione al tour operator che mi ha rimborsato 1/4 del biglietto. Ho apprezzato, non tanto per l'importo, ma per la serietà nella risoluzione della problematica.
Balade intéressante
brigittedubreuil1962, Nov 2019
Guide très intéressante expliquant en 2 langues. Petit bémol la visite de la basilique au pas de course afin que l'organisateur puisse récupérer ses audio guides!!!!!!!!!!
Bom serviço
marioagneves, Nov 2019
Bom serviço. Bem organizado. Podia ser mais completo na visita à Catedral, dado o preço é o interesse.
Visite du Palio mais pas de Sienne
Samuel_P, Jul 2019
Nous avons choisi une visite guidée de Sienne pour intéresser les enfants à l’histoire de cette ville. Notre visite devait durer 2h mais notre guide assurait 2 langues donc le temps de traduire, 2 fois moins de temps en français. Elle ne nous a parlé que du Palio. Même si connaître cette course traditionnelle est intéressant nous en attendions plus sur l’histoire même de la ville. Sa construction, son essor, les familles importantes ... le guide du routard m’en a dit plus. Et à 5 avec la visite de la cathédrale cela nous a coûté 145€. Ça ne valait pas cela.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Best of Siena Guided Walking Tour


1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Guided Walking tour of Siena with Cathedral


2 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Walking Tour of Siena with food & Chianti wine


2 hours
Free Cancellation