Small Group Glacier Hiking & Ice Caving Tour Inside Vatnajokull Glacier

Badge of ExcellenceSkaftafell, Iceland

From $160.84

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


The Vatnajökull glacier is widely considered the jewel in Skaftafell National Park’s crown, but the icy terrain holds hidden dangers. On this ice-caving tour, hike around and beneath the Vatnajökull glacier with your certified guide, and explore millions of years of natural geology. With crampons and safety equipment included, enjoy uninterrupted views over the icy landscapes for which Iceland is famous.
  • Explore the Vatnajökull glacier caves with your guide: The icy terrain make the caves potentially hazardous
  • Up-close views over the icy formations and subterranean terrain
  • Gain insight into millions of years of natural history
  • Safety equipment included

What's Included

  • Small group experience
  • Ice caving adventure
  • Professional driver/guide
  • Glacier equipment (crampons, ice axe, helmet)
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Clothing

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 228J+CQ Skaftafell
    228J+CQ Skaftafell, Iceland

    The meeting point for this tour is at the Arctic Adventures Booking Hut in Skaftafell National park. Skaftafell is located in approx 327km (203 miles) distance from Reykjavik.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Operates in cold weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Minimum age: 10 years old
  • This is a small group tour ensuring a more personalized experience
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
69 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 69 reviews
Must Do!!
Saaket_P, Mar 2023
Highly recommended experience and it's not as strenuous as we thought. Fantastic guides! Enjoy the sunset by taking the evening hike.
Worst customer experience
neeraj_b, Jan 2023
The tour company Arctic does not specify the exact glacier hike and is not flexible at all to switch to different tour on the same day without charging the cancellation fees. I took the glacier hike with other company a day before and given Arctic adventures advertised the glacier hike trip without much details I booked it. Visiting there I was told I will be hiking the same glacier without much different experience. I was asked to talk to customer service and advised switch to crystal cave tour with Arctic scheduled in next 1 hr which was more expensive by Arctic guides. I am disappointed that customer service charged me 100% cancellation fees within for first tour after making tons of pleas and charged me second tour. Worst customer experience ever. They are Not all flexible as I still went with their second tour. I hope they can refund first tour charges.
Glacier hike December 2022
Charlie_W, Dec 2022
Climbing the stairs to the cave and the hike it self was incredible. Everyone in the group enjoyed the trip and our guide did a fantastic job.
What you see is NOT what you get in terms on Ice Caves
Jenna_S, Nov 2022
Tour overall was great but an extraordinary let down for what we thought we were getting. Definite misrepresentation from the photo they use to what you actually see. We saw one “cave” that was pretty much a hole in the ice. Like I said it was cool, we were just expecting WAY more for the price.
Arrogant Jerk of a “Guide”
John_C, Oct 2021
I was unable to go. We had a group of five. The other 4 went. Due to a COVID concern (I wasn’t feeling well) I didn’t go. The website says there are exceptions to refunds on this. The incredibly arrogant guide refused to even reconsider giving me a refund. My colleagues said said he was a Nazi arrogant jerk. I would never recommend such a company. I might not ever use Viator again after this trip. Very disappointed. I paid for being responsible
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Dear Discover20898779125, Thank you for your feedback! As any tour operator in the world, we do strongly recommend having travel insurance to cover any emergencies that might occur. We are deeply sorry you were not able to participate and missed out on the opportunity to explore Iceland, but keep in mind we had a seat reserved for you on the tour, therefore a refund is not being offered. If you would have advised us 24 hours prior to the tour, there would have not been any problem. We do however would like to get more information about the guide and pass this on to the relevant team, so we would appreciate if you could send us an email with your ticket number and we could investigate internally. Would be highly appreciated!
The highlight of our trip. Great small...
Kathryn K, Nov 2017
The highlight of our trip. Great small group experience. We booked the earliest departure and it was worth it! It felt like we had the glacier to ourselves. Our guide, Bronwyn, was fantastic. Very knowledgeable, funny, and she took some wonderful group photos of us. I will note, that we had originally not booked this tour. I had booked another tour via Viator for the Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon hike. Unfortunately, the operator cancelled and I never got a notification from Viator. I didn't find out until I was in Iceland the night before when I logged in to look at the parking details, etc. Viator's customer service did work with me and they re-booked us for the Vatnajokull Glacier tour. While I was not happy with the situation, it all worked out in the end. We really did have a great time on this tour and I would recommend it. Just double and triple check that status of your bookings.
Absolutely amazing experience. The...
Philip D, Jan 2017
Absolutely amazing experience. The guides were great, very accommodating, and provided lots of interesting information. The title of this tour is a little misleading as this was fundamentally a glacier hike/climb with a relatively quick stop-off into a small-ish ice cave. That being said, we weren't the least bit disappointed. The hiking was amazing and unlike anything we'd ever done. You will absolutely want waterproof boots, waterproof pants e.g. snow pants and jacket as you're out in the snow/rain/elements for a few hours straight. Additional gear is available from the company to borrow/purchase on-site if you show up underprepared. Activity level was moderate. Anyone who is able to walk for a few hours straight should have no problem whatsoever keeping up, and the guides do a great job of keeping everyone together.
was really amazing. but if you just...
Sungeun J, Jan 2017
was really amazing. but if you just want to enjoy with not too much walk. you should not. but anyway highly recommended.
Escursione non fatta causa tempesta di nevee strade chiuse con divieto, ma non c'è rimborso
marco_m, Dec 2022
Il momento più memorabile è stato quando mi hanno detto che una tempesta di neve che ha bloccato tutte le strade islandesi per due giorni non è motivo di rimboroso. Ho scritto 5 mail e chiamato l'operatore al telefono nei 2 giorni precedenti spiegando la situazione e se, vista l'eccezionalità e che l'apertura era prevista in tempo per poter arrivare, si potesse attendere prima di disdire e per avere l'eventuale rimborso. Mi hanno risposto solo 1 volta dicendo che non c'erano problemi e che mi avrebbero fatto sapere di eventuali modifiche. Purtroppo però, le strade sono state aperte troppo tardi, ho avvisato subito (prima dell'orario stabilito, come da accordi) ma mi hanno risposto che ormai era tardi e che la tempesta di neve non è motivo di rimborso in quanto è affar mio il fatto di riuscire a recarmi sul posto in tempo. Ho fatto ricorso sul sito paypal per bloccare il pagamento, vedremo cosa diranno. State attenti a prenotare nel sito perchè non sono per nulla bravi a risolvere i problemi.
Good trip
Jose_B, Feb 2022
Le cadre était magnifique,le temps exceptionnel,l’organisation au top,le guide compétent et de bon conseil et plein d’humour.