Versailles Palace Skip the Line Small Group Guided Tour

Badge of ExcellenceVersailles, France

From $66.08

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 hour 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Offered in: English


France’s Palace of Versailles is so massive, that if you explored it on your own, you’d surely miss something worth seeing or knowing. This Palace of Versailles Skip-the-Line Small-Group Tour takes you through the royal apartments with a guide in a small-group atmosphere so you don’t miss a thing. Plus, you’ll also get special, skip-the-line access to this famous attraction.
  • Save time and skip the entrance lines at the Palace of Versailles
  • Explore the royal apartments with a guide who knows the history well
  • A small group makes it easy to ask your guide questions along the way
  • This Palace of Versailles tour is available in three languages when booking

What's Included

  • Guided Tour of the Castle by a Local Professional Guide
  • Entrance to the Palace with Priority Access
  • Transportation to/from Versailles
  • Food and Drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Garden tickets during Musical and Fountain Shows (From April Through October)

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Palace of Versailles
    Place d'Armes, 78000 Versailles, France

    In front of the Equestrian Statue of Louis XIV Place d'Armes 78000 Versailles

End point

  • Palace of Versailles
    Place d'Armes, 78000 Versailles, France

    The tour ends at the end of the Inside Guided Tour of the Palace of Versailles.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Near public transportation
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
Operated by Paris TRIP

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more
57 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 57 reviews
Amazing and well worth it
Daryl_M, Mar 2023
The Palace was amazing. So much history in one place. Thankful to our tour guide “Olivia” for her exceptional knowledge and kind demeanor. We learned a lot and had a great experience. It’s well worth the money to have a guide!!!
Happy when we turned in speakers and went on our own
jodie_s, Jan 2023
We loved the palace but the tour was not worth it. It says be on time or you will be left - Our group waiting outside in the cold first for our tour guide to arrive slightly late then we continued to wait outside in the freezing temps for 3 people to arrive almost 30 min late. Once inside lots of unrelated chatter and missed several areas
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Bonjour Jodie, First of all "Happy New Year!" Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience which was "not worth it". We are truly sincerely sorry it turned out to be that way for you and we would really like to investigate further regarding your guide having arrived slightly late but above all about you having to wait "outside in the freezing temps for 3 people to arrive almost 30 min late." Please contact us directly at to give us details such as the day you went on the tour. This will allow us to work on improving our guided tour operation. We are sincerely sorry. Thanks again, Arnaud
Stephanie is the best, funny and knowledgeable guide
Sharon_L, Dec 2022
Stephanie was an awesome guide! So knowledgeable and funny! She hilariously mixed salient historical info with current pop culture context. Families with younger children take note - it may be awkward afterwards to address questions about the references to the extra marital relationships and “consummating” activities of the palace’s former inhabitants.
Fantastic tour
Jennifer_M, Dec 2022
The booking is very convenient even we booked the tour last minute. The tour is well organized. Our guide Francesco is awesome. He told us a lot of interesting stories. We enjoyed the trip very much.
Micheline_M, Dec 2022
Versailles Tour was very nice with a very knowledgeable and kind guide Julie!! She made the the tour very pleasant and
Versailles workers went...
MICHAEL_G, Oct 2022
Versailles workers went on strike. The tour guide did not show up. We apparently received no notice from viator. We are due a refund. Our other viator experiences were quite good so we've rebooked for tomorrow. How about some consideration for our expenses and troule. Does anyone read these?
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Bonjour Michael, Yes Versailles Staff went on strike on October 27, and when we found out about it we did our best to contact all the participants scheduled on the Versailles Tours that morning to offer different alternatives. We offered to either reschedule for a different day or receive a full refund. It looks like you have never received our messages. Other people received our Short Messages, Whatsapp, or emails and they either received a full refund when they couldn't reschedule and the ones who rescheduled for the afternoon truly enjoyed their visit with our guides. As far as you are concerned, your refund is on the way and you should not be worried about that. We are really sorry you didn't receive our email notification advising of a possible STRIKE notice and we are really sorry for the trouble and expenses incurred due to that STRIKE. Like you, we have to support the consequences of such an event occurring. To your question: "Does anyone read these?" you now have an answer. Yes we have read your review and yes you will receive a full refund and yes we are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the STRIKE. On the other hand, you should know that you are penalizing us for an event for that we have no responsibility whatsoever, but your review will surely affect our ranking and I am thanking you very much for that. Best, Arnaud
It was ok
corinne_s, Oct 2022
Thé palace is stunning. The guide was very well informed but the tour was packed and it was a lot of waiting around considering we were skip the line
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Bonjour Corinne, Thank you very much for your time describing your experience of your Versailles Palace Skip the Line Small Group Guided Tour. I am glad you enjoyed your guide Anja and you are right the Palace is Stunning, so well preserved, and amazingly maintained. I am surprised though you consider this guided tour packed when there were only 15 people in your group. Isn't it what we call a small group? As far as the waiting time is concerned, you must surely be talking about the time you had to wait for the tour to start, because and we thank you for that, you arrived 15-20 minutes ahead of time. The tour left the meeting point on time after you were equipped with the audio and Earbuds and you entered the palace as soon as you got to the group's entrance. Isn't it what we call a "Skip the Line Access"? I am really sorry you didn't feel that way and that it was not totally up to your expectation. Merci Arnaud
Fall in Europe
Robert_M, Sep 2022
We had an early entry and it paid off. Even in late September the lines got very long, but we were able to go right through. It's easiest to visit without a bag of any kind as you do have to go through security. It was pretty simple even with a small purse. The facility is magnificent. I will return another time for the gardens. It just didn't fit into our schedule this trip.
Bien Versailles
Zari_C, Sep 2022
Olivia our guide was personable, knowledgeable snd sweet. We had a beautiful day at Versailles! Would recommend her!
Educational and interesting
Christine_V, Sep 2022
Our tour guide was exceptional with whimsical stories that made history relevant and very interesting!
Great Guides!!
Georgia_D, Sep 2022
Olivia was a brilliant guide who knew a lot about Versailles and the history surrounding it. She was able to answer most questions we had and did so with humour and professionalism. The palace is beautiful
Greek gods and ceilings.
James_C, Sep 2022
My favorite parts were when the tour guide was describing how the ceiling paintings matched up with the purpose of each room. For instance, the painting of the Greek god Mars in the War Room tied in with the military planning discussed there. I would not have known that he was the god of war without the guides help, nor connected it with the room's usage.
Very informative
Veronika_K, Aug 2022
Easy, and very informative experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable and attentive. The group was small the palace was beautiful. The tour was well organized
Amazing gallery of Napoleonic paintings + great tour guide
Scott_C, Aug 2022
The tour guide was wonderful and I had the most fun exploring the Napoleonic wing. It was much less crowded than the rest of the palace which kind of irked me because it seems like people don’t care so much about Napoleon which is just tragic.
Screwed by VIATOR.
Michael_H, Aug 2022
The most memorable part of the trip was How VIATOR ONCE AGAiN RUINED A VERY EXPENSIVE VACATION OF OURS. I know you can’t trust VIATOR for any large amount of money. The Hop on Hop Off is decently run ; however, anything else with a guide is a gamble. There was another family that was two minutes late and couldn’t catch the guide. It does not cost you on a group tour to have someone there to be there to at least distribute the tickets we had paid for in good faith. I should have known from our last foreign trip with VIATOR. This will be the last time you will screw me out of money. I am also going to contact the appropriate agencies of your practices.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Bonjour Michael, Pretty amazing to see how people like to blame others when they are the ones at fault in the first place for their own incapacity to be on time. Why blame others and lose time ruining people's good reputations? Fortunately, we do receive many more good reviews about our services, otherwise, we would have already stopped running tours. From what I read you must have arrived late for your tour and you missed it. What did we do wrong? We had a team of coordinators on-site welcoming the different participants and If you were not given your tickets to enter the palace after reaching the place late, it is simply because you didn't purchase a simple entrance ticket but rather a guided tour. Your entrance is attached to the guide leading the visit. Versailles does not allow anybody booked on a guided tour to enter the palace once the guide has entered the place with the other participants. We simply obey the rules. It is as simple as that. We didn't "screw" anyone (To quote your words, not ours.) We didn't steal money out of you. One piece of advice, if you allow us. Next time plan more efficiently and you won't miss your tour! Thank you, Arnaud
Not as advertised.
Stephen_F, Aug 2022
Guide was knowledgeable but rhis was not a small group tour. There were 23 people in our group and the palace was over crowded. It mimade it hard to hear the guide hard to hear and it felt very claustrophobic. I would pass on this.
Your guide was excellent....
Tzippy_S, Jul 2022
Your guide was excellent. Very knowledgeable but brought it to all levels was friendly and patient. After the tour she spoke with my husband and I at length and answered many questions
Anonymous, Jul 2022
Beautiful grounds, ticket does not get you into the gardens but can purchase after. Limited toileting options so go before you go!! Wonderful guide and experience.
Worth each penny, don't miss it
Olivera_P, Jul 2022
Our guide Maria was very helpful and informative, we heard a history details about Versailles we never heard before. She make our vist to an happiness and amazing experience.
Overall good experience
J_L, Jul 2022
The guide experience was pretty good. If there was any issue it would be the headset she used was not clear enough for us to understand what she was saying half of the time. Overall she was very nice and took time to explain everything. As far as Versailles itself, it is quite a site but they need to manage the crowds. There were many times the bottle neck was just absurd.