Château of Versailles and Marie Antoinette's Petit Trianon Private Tour

Versailles, France
Special Offer

From $375.24

$431.31 Save $56.07

Price varies by group size

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 5 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Visit one of France’s most popular locations, the Palace of Versailles, on this private excursion from Paris. Explore the home of former French kings and queens as you stroll through hidden rooms, the Hall of Mirrors, and the gardens as well as the Petit Trianon of Marie Antoinette. Learn about the rich history of France and Versailles from your dedicated tour guide as you explore.
  • Visit the Palace of Versailles on a private day trip from Paris
  • See the Hall of Mirrors, the gardens, and the Petit Trianon
  • Learn about the history of Versailles and France as you explore
  • Enjoy a personalized experience with a private guide and vehicle

What's Included

  • All Fees and Taxes
  • Skip-the-Line Versailles Estate Pass
  • Private local expert guide
  • Versailles Palace Visit
  • Versailles Garden Visit
  • Domaine de Marie Antoinette Visit (Petit Trianon and Queen's Hamlet)
  • If you would like a transfer from Paris, please let us know.

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Equestrian statue of Louis XIV
    78000 Versailles, France

    We can provide a detailed map upon request

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

End point

  • Estate of Trianon
    78008 Versailles, France

    The tour ends at the Petit Trianon of the Domaine de Marie Antoinette

Pickup details

We can organize a roundtrip transfer to/from Versailles at an additional charge.

What To Expect

Equestrian statue of Louis XIV (Pass By)

Palace of Versailles

2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Gardens of Versailles

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Le Hameau de la Reine

2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more


94 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 94 reviews
terrible experience
Irene_M, Jun 2023
it's was extremely terrible experience, the tour guide is drunk and very unprofessional, the tour agency cancelled the tour last minute and find the replacement tour guide which is totally unprofessional and not knowing anything! just doesn't want to refund our £800 The tour agency is not giving us any information of the tour guide even contact number Please don't choose this travel agency
Missed opportunity!
Aaron_W, May 2023
We drew a short straw with our Versailles guide. He was quick to complain, and made it clear to us that he was in no condition (physically or psychologically) to give the tour. He barely talked to us, raced from room to room with his back to us, and complained to anyone who would listen - even Versailles staff - about whatever grievance he had at the moment. We tried to just ignore him as much as possible and couldn't wait for our time with him to end. We had other private guides throughout the trip, and he was by far the worst. He had no empathy and failed to even "try" to make things fun or entertaining. The #1 rule of guiding: your clients are there on vacation and want to relax and have fun. He was abysmal on all counts. And this was a private and expensive tour! I have never had an experience like this, and hope to never repeat it!
Immerse yourself in history
Mark_E, May 2023
We were fortunate in that we had our great tour guide Nils all to ourselves. Nils really knew the detail behind the place, the relationships of the kings and their queens, their children. Highly recommended.
Don't waste your time WITHOUT a tour guide! A+++
Ricardo_A, May 2023
Versailles is huge and impressive, too big to consume without an expert tour guide. Our guide was excellent, she knew everything about Versailles -- including the history of the country, monarchy, architecture, landscaping, etc etc etc. I quizzed her on several items and she knew it all. A++
Perfect, full tour of Versailles and the grounds
Richard_C, Apr 2023
Our guide did a fantastic job! We ended up doing a private tour and our guide couldn’t have been better. She helped us see every part of the Versailles grounds, including the Petite Trion and Little Village, a walk through the gardens, and of course the palace. The information in each room of the palace was very informative and interesting.
Welcome to Versailles
Hanna_B, Apr 2023
Had an amazing adventure through Versailles as Natalie shared secrets and details of the history there. The booking agency scheduled a driver to meet me outside our hotel, who even arrived early for pickup. Once we arrived to Versailles and met with Natalie, my guide, she quickly walked us into the gardens. After recommending the golf cart, she whisked us to the many hidden areas that we might have missed ourselves. After the gardens and a quick refresh it was off to explore the chateau. I was so thankful to have Natalie as she was very enthusiastic about Versailles and was equally impressed with my interest and knowledge. Finally we made it the Trianon and Hamlet where it was nice to see a less crowded area and enjoy hearing the birds sing as we strolled around. I can’t wait to return.
Nils is an excellent...
Elinor_F, Mar 2023
Nils is an excellent guide. His knowledge of Versailles is astounding. He engages his guest in a very gracious manner. We recommend Nils very highly as guide for Versailles.
Excellent guide
Kandyce_B, Mar 2023
I am giving 5 stars because of the tour guide. There was an issue with the tour company and I was very unsatisfied but our tour guide was amazing and the palace was amazing. I highly recommend getting the tickets that include M-A’s private quarters. The grounds around her mini palace were wonderful and our tour guide had a wealth of information. She was professional yet personable and wasn’t scripted like other guides I passed. She had real knowledge to share and was very interesting. We mentioned we were going to the catacombs later and she gave us some info about how that related to the king. She spent extra time with us and went above and beyond. Tour company- 2 stars; Viator-2 stars; tour guide- 5+ stars.
Outstanding Guide!!
John_H, Feb 2023
Stephane was a wonderful guide. He told in depth stories about much of the history of the palace. He even made a lunch recommendation for after the tour and accompanied us to the restaurant to make sure we were well taken care of. We highly recommend.
Great guide, great place
Angie_c, Dec 2022
Our tour guide Lily was so knowledgeable and such a lovely lady. Her enthusiasm for history and the arts was contagious. Great tour with my family.
Book Alexander!
Emily_C, Nov 2022
Alexander was an absolute treasure of a human being not to mention an amazing guide. We had an incredible experience and learned so much! He speaks 5 languages so he can help many people from many places. ☺️
Perfect day at Versailles!
Denielle_F, Aug 2022
Phillips, our tour guide, was incredible! He was extremely informative and made the tour perfect for our 2 teenage children. It was the perfect mix of indoor and outdoor. We spent over 4 hours with him and he was such a delight! We would highly recommend him and this tour!
Amazing Versailles tour
Mark_F, Aug 2022
Our guide Ana was amazing. She had so much energy and was very funny. She provided context for every room we saw and tons of information we would have never have known. But she did it all so well it never felt like too much. Even my teenager said it was awesome. Can’t say enough good things about Ana and the tour.
Good experience- but be prepared...
Amy_V, Aug 2022
This experience started out a bit rocky as the website offers pick up but does not book it when you buy the tour. You will need to go through your tour operator to set this up separately. If you plan public transportation to get to Versailles, you will need to leave WAY in advance of your tour to make sure you arrive on time as unless you plan to take a taxi, you will need trains and bus. There was a mix up with finding our guide after our late arrival, even though I reached out to inform our tour operator as soon as I knew we were running late due to missing on of our connections. It got to the point that I wanted to cancel the whole thing. But our tour operator really did everything he could to set things right & after we did meet up with our guide, the experience turned around totally. She was fantastic! She was very personable and knowledgeable about the palace and gardens. It is truly an amazing site. She took our family's photos in many rooms and in the gardens. Be prepared- while there are only so many rooms to see in the palace, the gardens are HUGE- lots of walking and can be hot and very sunny- so sunscreen/ protection and hydration are a must in summer! There are places to purchase food & water within the palace as well as in the gardens. Also be aware that once you leave the palace for the gardens, you cannot reenter, so plan your stops for bathrooms or food accordingly. If you want to see the fountain shows, please double check which days these happen as they currently are not everyday. We went on a Wednesday which unfortunately was not a day to see them. Even with all our trials at the start, we were highly satisficed with this experience, especially since we skipped the lines waiting to get in plus our guide handled all our tickets and was only focused on us and what we wanted to see.
Terrible Experience
Vanesa_W, Jul 2022
We have booked a private tour of Versailles and by some reason the choice of pick up/drop off at the hotel was checked in our original reservation. After weeks if trying to fix this issue finally the travel agency contacted me. They offer to add that option at an additional charge and they offer to add Marie Antoniette domain to the tour which according to them will save us a 30/40 minute walk. I agree and pay the additional cost. The day before the tour, they told me the tour which was scheduled at 10 am was now at 2:30 pm. This was already an inconvenience because we have to rearrange the whole day in Paris. The day of the tour they picked us up on time and to our surprise they dropped us at Marie Antoniette domain area first which it was supossed to be the end of the tour. The tour guide met us there, she had no idea of any arrangements. We spend 2 hours in that area and then had to take a train to the main entrance for what we had to wait 30 minutes and got in the train just by luck after paying an additional Euros 26. The tour of Versailles was then a rush walk of 1 and a half hour and did not include the gardens because the museum was closing at 6 pm. The return was chaotic as well because we had no idea who was picking us up. We paid more than 1000 Euros for a very disorganized experience and with a tour guide was not knowledgeable enough for the money we paid.
GISELE_T, Jul 2022
You do not get what you paid for it. The tour guide didn’t had the tickets on hand we had to wait as she kept calling the agency. Very expensive, our tour guide very nice but she doesn’t speak English very well and she had a very hard time to tell us things. For the prices paid the agency doesn’t include the train to get to Antonieta little chateau, I refused to paid and the guide paid to finish her tour. Not worth the price. DO NOT BOOK PRIVATE TOURS
Wonderful half day at Versailles!
Cole_B, Jul 2022
This was a wonderful private tour. It started on time, and was personalized and engaging along the way. Communication from the company was good. The ability to skip the lines with this tour is also a big bonus, especially in the busy summer. Anna, our tour guide, was exceptional. She was funny, energetic, and incredibly knowledgable about the history of Versailles and the monarchies. She had insights that are not common in guides we've used before. I'd highly recommend her to anyone looking for a guide at Versailles, the Louvre, or other places she is familiar with. Would book again.
Lots of walking
Stephanie_K, Jul 2022
If you choose this tour it is probably guide-dependent and our guide, Michelle, is not a great option. Though she is nice she was disorganized and overwhelmed. The tour company also did not provide little train (tram) tickets as part of the package so if you decide to choose to take the tram from Les Domaines deMarie Antoinette to Versailles you will have an incredibly difficult time if you are able to succeed at all--they take people with tickets prior to those trying to pay for tickets and they run out of spots. We lost an hour waiting for the tram. (Note there is a lot of walking at Versailles) When we got to Versailles we were late for our timed tour and our guide disappeared without explaining what she was doing. I called the tour company to complain and eventually we were able to fly threw the museum but we missed the gardens. Make sure the tour company gets you to and from Versailles because that was difficult as well. What we saw was beautiful but we would rent golf carts next time and take a different tour.
The time you pick to...
felisa_m, Jul 2022
The time you pick to reserve and the time the actual tour starts is very different , They company said it was only a confirmation not a reservation of the time slot , I called and they said I had to check my email a day before, I did not know this so I arrived to my tour time that I had on my ticket Boucher. 3 hours before the actual tour was going to start. I was not going to wait 3 hrs for a tour to start so this was useless We ended up doing the tour by our self with audio tour and had to buy tickets for the gardens again, because the people that work ay Versaille said they wore not good.
No guide, no communication, no sights
Lauren_I, Jul 2022
Spent days before trip communicating with the operator and then no guide showed up for an hour and a half. This after they postponed our originally scheduled tour. Once we met the guide, she did not have passes for us through all the pre-paid areas, and we ended up not seeing portions because they’d closed before we could get there. Overall most disappointing experience.
Great tour with Guide
Alayne_P, Jul 2022
Anna's story telling of the history of the Palace was THE BEST! I really felt we got so much more out of our visit with our guide Anna. She hit all the historical aspects as well as a few unknown historical aspects of the Palace. It was definitely worth the money to have a guide.
Left waiting in CourtYard
Joseph_M, Jun 2022
I can not rate the location other then it looks nice outside the gate. Three days before our even I got an email that they wanted to add another couple to our private tour. They offered a discount. I agree to help them out. At 11 pm the night before I got an email they changed our time from 11 am to 10 am. I called immediately and told the tour company I could not get there any sooner. I already arrange to be picked up by a driver at 9:30 am at our hotel. We had already read to get there early as they have left earlier from the meeting spot to start tour. We got their exactly 11 am and no one there. We spent a good portion of an hour to get someone to assist us. They informed us to meet the tour guide at the golden gate in the court yard. We then spent another hour trying to reach someone as no one showed. Finally at 12 pm the tour company said they can only give us the garden tour but give us 1/2 off. The guide is almost done and meet us at the gate. Well we waited another 1 1/2 and no show. We finally gave up and went back to the hotel. All we saw was the courtyard. Never go thru this tour company again.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback; it is greatly appreciated. Your feedback highlights why we do not operate group tours because it is not always easy to ensure everyone arrives on time or is satisfied. As much as we want to control everything, some matters are outside our hands - such as the accident on the road which caused you to be late usually a transfer takes 45 minutes, and our guide waited. We can only adapt ourselves and tried to ensure that you still have a good experience, we even asked our guide to offer you to join the tour in the afternoon so you can receive a full experience which was denied. Reading the review with sadness, we would have been better off canceling the visit or trying to push it to another day. We tried our best to ensure you experience our Versailles Monarchy with a guide with the little we had... I want to add, in addition to the 50% discount, we did provide a €50 credit for each attendee, including yourself. We have taken note of this mistake/lesson and will ensure the new hire(s) are adequately trained so that this does not happen again. As previous reviews show, this is not the service we offer, and the foundation of Venez Discover France was built. This lesson has also allowed us to improve our processes. I wish you an excellent return home and hope to see you again to regain your trust (The tour will be free of charge - It is the least we can do)
KarlaJulieta_B, Jun 2022
The tour guide was late and they came unprepared, the tickets he bought were for 5:00PM but we booked a tour for 10AM. The email about the tour being delayed was never sent and we wasted about 3/4 of our day.
Expensive tour with little value
John_R, Jun 2022
This tour was purported to be a private tour with a knowledgeable guide. Our guide was nice but she was a substitute and inexperienced was. The tour inside the palace was self guided audio tour provided by the palace. that was not what we signed up for. We would have better off doing everything on our own. This was not a Viator quality tour. I do feel that I was ripped off. Not a good feeling. Very disappointed
10 out of 10
Katrine_J, Jun 2022
Our tour guide Anna was on time at our meeting place! She very knowledgeable about the place, history, artifacts etc. We did our tour still having jetlag, but she made sure that the tour was interesting and lively as possible. Our family really enjoyed it and Anna made our stay in Paris unforgettable! merci!
Great tour, excellent guide.....very poor company communication
Jim_M, Jun 2022
Our tour guide, Natacha, was fantastic. Very pleasant and extensively knowledgeable, she was in sync with the blazing heat of the day and kept my family shaded and paced so as not to be totally exhausted after 4 hours. She even walked us to the train to get back to the hotel! It's a lot of walking, so be prepared, but what an amazing site. My big complaint is with the tour operating company itself. There were confusing and conflicting texts and emails regarding the start time, 3 different times stated, and no response despite several emails and phone call attempts. We couldn't even get confirmation of hotel pickup and had to scramble to get there, only to be more than an hour early to a delayed start time. So frustrating and stressful, it should not be so impossible to contact someone for basic information. Natacha, to her credit, apologized on their behalf, but they should be ashamed to put their guides in such a bad spot.
Disappointing experience
Katie_H, Jun 2022
We made the reservation for 10am, when we arrived our guide said we should have been there at 9:30. All e-mail confirmations said 10am. Therefore, we were rushed and it was not worth the cost. At all. The guide was nice and knowledgeable but spent little time with us.
Fantastic tour!
Linda_B, Jun 2022
Our tour guide Anna was amazing. She was extremely knowledgeable and a great story teller oif the history of Versailles. The tour was worth ever penny. I would highly recommend!
Bari_M, Jun 2022
DO NOT BOOK! If I could give this zero stars I would. Booked this tour for a Friday. While waiting for a cab to drive to Versailles from Paris, I receive an email stating our guide has been in an accident and they need to cancel, but we can rebook for Saturday. Saturday morning before we leave the hotel, I get another email saying they can’t find a guide that speaks English. 2 days in a row they cancel last minute and they obviously lied to me about the guide being in an accident the first time they cancelled. Unbelievable!! I could have made other arrangements if they had been honest about the situation, but they’re liars and cheats. DO NOT BOOK!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Bonjour, We are sorry that you felt this way. However, Paris is extremely busy at the moment and finding an alternative guide is impossible. Not to mention, how hard it was for us to find a guide available for your last minute booking. We are not in control of some situations - such as Covid or accidents that guides can still have, because they are also humans. Now, we are definitely not the company that you called us as "liars and cheats". Since if we were so, we would not provide a full refund to you, send follow ups and spend so much time and try to accommodate you and provide a good experience for you and your family in the last minute booking as such, and whilst the operations are overbooked right now. On top of that, we have sent you FREE skip-the-line tickets for you and your family to still enjoy the visit. If you have further questions, please contact us directly.
No guide no cancellation.
Shelly_C, May 2022
We met at the meeting point without the guide. We did not receive notification that the tour was cancelled. The regular tickets were sold out.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Special Offer
No Photo
Château of Versailles and Marie Antoinette's Petit Trianon Private Tour


5 hours
Free Cancellation